Welcome! Log in or Register

Native Norwegian Art - Einherjer

  • image
£7.73 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Artist: Einherjer / Audio CD released 2005-02-07 at Tuba

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      02.07.2008 15:20
      Very helpful



      Einherjer's third album (2000).

      Einherjer were one of the more creative bands in the Viking metal genre, retaining a distinct, well-produced sound incorporating orchestra and piano and a very unusual style of guitar playing indebted to the folk tradition. The vocals are performed in gruff singing rather than the more typical growls, and indeed the black metal elements that underpin much Viking metal are all but absent even in the rare faster songs such as 'Burning Yggdrasil.'

      The keyboard is a little distracting to the sense of ancient atmosphere conjured here, but the use of orchestra is superbly done, reminiscent of Therion in its more full-blown moments. This is predominantly slow-to-medium-paced epic metal based around the guitar, and the longer song lengths allow each piece to stand strong. The music is still heavy and loud without being overbearing for those less fond of extreme metal, with a convincingly thunderous sound suited to the apocalyptic Viking themes.

      1. Wyrd of the Dead
      2. Doomfaring
      3. Hugin's Eyes
      4. Burning Yggdrasil
      5. Crimson Rain
      6. Howl Ravens Come
      7. Draconian Umpire
      8. Regicide


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Wyrd Of The Dead
      2 Doomfaring
      3 Hugin's Eyes
      4 Burning Yggdrasil
      5 Crimson Rain
      6 Howl Ravens Come
      7 Draconian Umpire
      8 Regicide
      9 Oskorei
      10 Ironbound

    Products you might be interested in