Welcome! Log in or Register

Need To Control - Brutal Truth

  • image
£7.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Brutal Truth / Audio CD released 1999-09-01 at Earache

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.04.2008 16:25
      Very helpful



      Brutal Truth's second album (1994).

      Brutal Truth's second album continues to push forward their death/grind hybrid, and results in a truer fusion than the previous album's more varied selection of styles. Gone are the four-second outbursts, with only one song coming in at less than a minute long, and the faster style is more prevalent throughout, with a few notable exceptions that slow considerably for contrast.

      The album opens rather surprisingly in this manner, with the monstrous 'Collapse' that would perhaps be more suited as a climactic finale, but whoever said grind bands played by the rules. Contrary to the majority of the material on offer here, this song is extremely slow in its heaviness, but ends up sounding no less devastating, while Kevin Sharp's vocals display their fantastic range between deep growls and pained screams that are used to great effect throughout the album.

      Although not mainstream by any means, Brutal Truth were always one of the more prominent acts in their field, and this is reflected in the generous production values that really help to flesh this album out, paying particular attention to Dan Lilker's excellent bass work that would almost certainly be inaudible on a lower budget release. The band only lets this studio trickery go to its head on a couple of weird occasions, namely the effects-laden finale and the curious interruption 'Ironlung' part-way through, but thankfully they once again avoid the temptation to include gory film samples for the sake of it.

      1. Collapse
      2. Black Door Mine
      3. Turn Face
      4. Godplayer
      5. I See Red
      6. Ironlung
      7. Bite the Hand
      8. Ordinary Madness
      9. Media Blitz (The Germs cover)
      10. Judgement
      11. Brain Trust
      12. Choice of a New Generation
      13. Mainliner
      14. Displacement
      15. Crawlspace


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Collapse
    2 Black Door Mine
    3 Turn Face
    4 God Player
    5 I See Red
    6 Iron Lung
    7 Bite The Hand
    8 Ordinary Madness
    9 Media Blitz
    10 Judgement
    11 Brain Trust
    12 Choice Of A New Generation
    13 Mainliner
    14 Displacement
    15 Crawlspace

Products you might be interested in