Welcome! Log in or Register

New Values - Iggy Pop

  • image
£4.32 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - New Wave & Post-punk / Artist: Iggy Pop / Extra tracks / Audio CD released 2000-07-22 at Arista

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.02.2009 18:09
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      If you like Iggy Pop you will want to check this out.

      Track Listing

      1. Tell Me A Story *
      2. New Values
      3. Girls
      4. I'm Bored *
      5. Don't Look Down
      6. The Endless Sea *
      7. Five Foot One *
      8. How Do Ya Fix A Broken Part?
      9. Angel *
      10. Curiosity *
      11. African Man *
      12. Billy Is A Runaway

      Bonus Tracks

      13. Chains
      14. Pretty Flamingo

      * = my favourites.

      'New Values' was released in 1979 and produced by Iggy's old sparring partner from the last days of the original Stooges, James Williamson. Williamson strips away the cold detached iciness of Pop's 2 previous 'Berlin' albums with Bowie, 'The Idiot' and 'Lust For Life', and restores the raunchy punk rock feel of the classic Stooges albums. For this reason, the album has long been a favourite with fans of Iggy, though it has never got the commercial recognition that it deserves.

      After his deal with RCA records went sour, Iggy moved on to Arista records where he produced 3 albums. This is perhaps the strangest period in his recording career with 'Soldier' and 'Party', the 2 albums after this, containing some very odd stuff. Most of it not very good, but you could never label Iggy boring or unwilling to try new things, and for those reasons it is worth checking out those albums if you can get hold of them.

      'New Values' is the place to start though as we find Iggy inspired again by working with Williamson and also talented musician Scott Thurston who provides a lot of the guitar and keyboard work on the album. You will find two absolute classics on this album; firstly 'I'm Bored', which I first heard on a beer commercial a few years ago and couldn't figure out who the song was by. After some searching I tracked down who it was and that the song was on this album. To be honest that is as good a reason as any for buying this album. The other classic that reveals itself on first listen is 'Five Foot One' an amusing take on Iggy's short height.

      The album is full of great songs, although there is that 'thrown together' feel that you get with all Iggy Pop albums. There is definitely some disposable stuff here, like 'Girls': 'I love girls, they're all over this world!'. The band he has with him, which includes Klaus Kruger on drums and Jackie Clark on bass, alongside Williamson and Thurston, is never less than tight and totally focused. Which means that although the songs occasionally falter lyrically, they are always musically assured.

      My favourites on the album include; 'Tell Me A Story' [the great snarling opening track] 'I'm Bored' [total classic], 'The Endless Sea' [a weird sort of dub/Doors epic], 'Five Foot One' [amusing], 'Angel' [a southern rock ballad worthy of Lynyrd Skynyrd or the Stones 'Sticky Fingers' era], 'Curiosity' [a quick Stones style raunchy work out] and 'African Man' [well.....you just need to hear this!]. So that's 7 tracks out of 12 which I would burn to the Ipod....I reckon that's a bit of a lost classic isn't it?.

      The other 5 tracks on the album are not particularly 'bad' as they provide a sort of backdrop to the good songs, which sounds like a strange way of describing it but I don't know how else to!. They are perhaps a bit more disposable.

      The two bonus tracks add little to the album. I did enjoy 'Pretty Flamingo' but it does sound a bit too much like the song with the same name by Manfred Mann!. Buddha Records did a fine job of remastering this in 2000 and the sleeve notes provide useful information about the background to the recordings.

      In a way its possible to see this album as Iggy Pop's first 'true' solo album, as 'The Idiot' and 'Lust For Life' were so dominated by Bowie's tastes of the time. 'New Values' sounds like Iggy striking out on his own, choosing to work with his old punk cohorts with both brilliant and chaotic results.

      Available for just under £6 currently on Amazon, or download if you're that way inclined.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Tell Me A Story
      2 New Values
      3 Girls
      4 I'm Bored
      5 Don't Look Down
      6 Endless Sea
      7 Five Foot One
      8 How Do Ya Fix A Broken Part
      9 Angel
      10 Curiosity
      11 African Man
      12 Billy Is A Runaway
      13 Chains
      14 Pretty Flamingo