Welcome! Log in or Register

Nightflight - Budgie

  • image
£20.00 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Budgie / Audio CD released 1993-12-31 at Repertoire

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      04.04.2008 20:02
      Very helpful



      Budgie's ninth album (1981).

      'Nightflight' is Budgie's ninth album, but the second of their eighties NWOBHM works, and although there's much that's commendable about this second release of the decade, it's also clearly the start of a downward spiral that would ultimately lead to the band's demise.

      Things start out in style with the historical epic 'I Turned to Stone,' comparable to their earlier classic 'Napoleon Bona' from 1975 with its acoustic introduction and compelling vocal and guitar performance, but after this there's a distinct tendency towards commercial acceptance that would ultimately (perhaps inevitably) never arrive. 'Keeping a Rendezvous' and 'Superstar' are the worst offenders in this regard, following a plodding style with light vocals and an emphasis on polish over energy, while the album is similarly plagued by the return of the ballads I thought we'd seen the last of, beginning with the reasonable 'Apparatus' that's reminiscent of Iron Maiden's 'Strange World,' but being exemplified in the tedious 'Change Your Ways.'

      Burke Shelley performs a passable imitation of Saxon's Biff Bryford throughout the album, as the band seems content to fit into the contemporary metal scene rather than make a distinguishing mark, but sadly this time round the guitars aren't enough to save this from seeming entirely mediocre, not living up to John Thomas' performances on the previous album. Most depressing of all is that the worst was yet to come.

      1. I Turned to Stone
      2. Keeping a Rendevouz
      3. Reaper of the Glory
      4. She Used Me Up
      5. Don't Lay Down and Die
      6. Apparatus
      7. Superstar
      8. Change Your Ways
      9. Untitled Lullaby


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 I Turned To Stone
    2 Keeping A Rendezvous
    3 Reaper Of The Glory
    4 She Used Me Up
    5 Don't Lay Down And Die
    6 Apparatus
    7 Superstar
    8 Change Your Ways
    9 Untitled Lullaby

Products you might be interested in