Welcome! Log in or Register

Nippon Girls: Japanese Pop, Beat & Bossa Nova 1966-1970

  • image
£7.44 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: Various Artists / CD / Audio CD released 2009-11-30 at BIG BEAT

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.02.2011 09:00
      Very helpful



      One of the best groovy Asian comps yet

      On the underground music scene compilations of girl band gems are all the range these days and the scope has moved worldwide, Nippon Girls is a 25 track compilation of Japanese girl bands from 1966-1970 that covers a range of styles.

      The majority of tracks are similar to the girl beat bands from the west, there's also some Japanese pop thrown in and some more eclectic Bossa Nova sounds, the songs are short and catchy. Japanese is usually an odd language to listen to, some people love it whilst others hate it, although there's a few tracks in English this album is mostly in Japanese and it does have that cheesy karaoke edge that Japanese music struggles to shake off.

      For the most part the music is distinctly Western sounding but it differs from its Asian compilation contemporaries in that the tracks are original and sung in their native language, a feat that only the strong Cambodian music scene of the 60s can boast of.

      Many of the singers on this album were extremely glamorous young women (Linda Yamomoto for example) and there's a distinctly glitzy Monaco or Southern France feel to it, that when combined with the cheesier aspects of the music gives off a really odd and innovative sound.

      This album is cool and chic, it flows really nicely from one track to the other despite incorporating different styles and rather a lot of tracks in one compilation. If you are looking for an album full of fun tracks from the Asian girlband scene then this is a great place to start, a lot of the compilations out there have a couple of stinkers but this one is definitely devoid of any.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Black Room - Jun Mayuzumi
    2 Sharock No. 1 - Mie Nakao
    3 Peacock Baby - Reiko Ohara
    4 Suki Sa Suki Sa Suki Sa - Nana Kinomi & Leo Beats
    5 Taiyou Wa Naite Iru - Ayumi Ishida
    6 Yé-Yé - Eiko Shuri
    7 Nagisa No Tenshi

Products you might be interested in