Welcome! Log in or Register

No Boys Allowed - Keri Hilson

  • image
£3.50 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Pop R&B / Artist: Keri Hilson / Audio CD released 2011-01-10 at Polydor / Interscope

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.05.2012 10:32
      Very helpful



      Keri Hilson's second album


      After bursting on the scene with the help of a couple of key features (on songs with Xzibit and Timbaland) Keri Hilson broke out to become one of the globe's biggest R&B sensations in 2009, when she put out "In a Perfect World...". The 2009 album featured a range of massive singles, most of which were instrumental in propelling her into different worlds and making her name spread through the industry. Despite it feeling like an eternity, she would follow it up with another body of work at the end of 2010. "No Boys Allowed" is its title and, as any good modern R&B LP should, it features a whole host of megastars to go along with it.

      *Good Points*

      Keri comes through with a mission to support the strength of her breakthrough. It's a good effort too, as one of the most understated R&B songs of recent times ("Pretty Girl Rock") is included and sits nicely in an album containing guest spots from the likes of Chris Brown, J. Cole and Rick Ross. She knows how to satisfy the girls with the relationship-based topics, but is never all that far away from engaging in one night stand-based talking points and getting all raunchy with it. It's your typical R&B album of the day and does everything that's asked of her.

      *Bad Points*

      Compared to what her first album had on offer, it felt as though this one was an unflattering follow-up. Despite having some of the biggest songs of their respective years with the first album, this one is a pretty modest one, so it fails to have many highlights which really stand out. You can argue that it should hold much of a bearing on how good the LP is, but the reason why it hasn't got such glowing spots hidden in it is because it's all on the same sort of level. The ballads (like "All the Boyz") don't really get better than average, the clubbier ends of the record ("Beautiful Mistake") weren't really lighting up any dancefloors, but it's nothing worth complaining about.


      Keri Hilson is sure to shock us any time now with another massive track and album to follow it up, but looking at her discography so far, you couldn't say that this is really the best representation of her talent. You won't be disappointed by her performances here - as "Toy Solider" is arguably one of the best songs she's ever put out - but it feels as though it reaches a certain level and doesn't really hit any higher than it. When her contemporaries, such as Rihanna and Beyonce, can slap you with proper hits that you can't help but pay attention to, she simply blends in and doesn't reach her full potential.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Buyou
    2 Pretty Girl Rock
    3 The Way You Love Me
    4 Bahm Bahm (Do It Once Again) / I Want You
    5 One Night Stand
    6 Lose Control / Let Me Down
    7 Toy Soldier
    8 Breaking Point
    9 Beautiful Mistake
    10 Gimme What I Want
    11 All The Boys
    12 Pretty Girl Rock

Products you might be interested in