Welcome! Log in or Register

No Mercy - T.I.

  • image
£4.45 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap - Hardcore & Gangsta Rap / Artist: T.I. / Audio CD released 2011-01-24 at ATLANTIC

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.07.2012 14:15
      Very helpful



      T.I.'s seventh album


      T.I. went through some turbulent times through 2007 to 2011. Soon after dropping his "T.I. vs. T.I.P." album and finally affirming his position in the Rap game (after tussling it out for years and getting his break with "King"), he wound up getting himself caught up in a weapons charge. While he awaited sentencing, he dropped his "Paper Trail" album and it turned out to be one of his weakest offerings. Upon returning from his prison sentence in 2010, however, he began recording another album. Unfortunately for T.I. another incident would mean that he'd have to face another spell behind bars. Before he did his time, he managed to record "No Mercy" (his seventh album overall) to keep the Atlanta rapper in the spotlight.

      *Good Points*

      There's something intriguing about the artist, which makes you want to listen, even if he's not on best form. Considering that this album wasn't as hyped up as it was, you'll actually find some of his rawest tunes. Head over to "I Can't Help it", for those who want him in Trap Muzik mode. Elsewhere, "I Can't Help It" proves that his conversational expression gets the credit it deserves, as he goes back to back with Eminem. As ever, his melodic choruses lace together the poignant verses and he maintains a high ranking position in the game, as someone who's able to speak to the streets, but is still able to push the limits on lyrical themes - such as his time spent apologising for winding up in prison, when he's being viewed as a role model.

      *Bad Point*

      Unlike all of T.I.'s other album, this one really didn't come with an unavoidable single. While "Get Back Up" was a very good song, it was as though the lack of hype surrounding the record was to emphasise that he'll recuperate in the future, and that this is just an obligatory release. Listening through to what it has on offer, it's true. It's as if he's trying a bit too hard to progress from his signature sound and forgets to deliver top class rhymes. "Welcome to the World", for example, is a track which Kanye West sounds like he made for himself and Tip doesn't really have a place in. The sheer number of featured guests needs mentioning too, as it's as if he's handing over the responsibility to his featured acts, as there's so many of them. You might want to hear Scarface, Drake, Chris Brown, Christina Aguilera and the rest along him, but it doesn't really seem as though he's done all that he could have here.


      T.I. reminds that he's a powerhouse of a lyricist, no matter how many knocks he takes. The title track here is perhaps the best example and enables him the chance to share his inner thoughts, through some provocative phrasing. However, it's as though he just doesn't do himself enough justice with the choice of producers here. It comes across as though he's trying to give "No Mercy" a certain dark, moody feeling about it, but he ends up breaking the vibe at various points, until you realise that it's all quite scattered. Despite some strong verses and career landmark features, "No Mercy" turns out to be a bit disappointing.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Welcome To The World
    2 How Life Changed
    3 Get Back Up
    4 I Can't Help It
    5 That's All She Wrote
    6 No Mercy
    7 Big Picture
    8 Strip
    9 Salute
    10 Amazing
    11 Everything On Me
    12 Poppin Bottles
    13 Lay Me Down
    14 Castle Walls
    15 Got Your Back
    16 I'm Back

Products you might be interested in