Welcome! Log in or Register

No Parlez - Paul Young

  • image
£6.00 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - New Wave & Post-punk / Artist: Paul Young / Audio CD released 2001-10-01 at Columbia

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.09.2009 21:38
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      eighties pop

      He is from Bedfordshire did you know, Mr Paul Young has been quiet of late in the charts, though he was on that Hell's Kitchen programme about a year or so ago. 'No Parlez' is the exotically titled album which helped propel him to the dizzy heights of stardom. There are eleven songs, here are some of the highlights.

      'Come Back And Stay' is a sultry and moody affair, in which Paul is begging his girlfriend to come back to him after things have gone wrong. His vocals show a curious maturity and there is an inviting warmth pushing through in his tone which really adds a soulful edge to the song. I would play this when I was feeling down and in the dumps.

      'Love Will Tear Us Apart' finds Paul getting husky as he tackles the Joy Division track with about as much grace as a wounded wildebeast. It lacks the heart of the original and really does not suit his voice at all. Young sounds out of his depth and struggles with some of the higher notes too.

      'Whereever I Lay My Hat' is much better, as he finds himself in comfortable territory, turning in an understated vocal on a captivating song, that is both mellow and haunting. Check out the title song, 'No Parlez' which smacks of the eighties, thanks to rousing synths and an uplifting hooky chorus, though I am unsure whether it is the strongest song on here.

      'Love Of The Common People' is pretty decent, the rhythm makes me think of taking a trip to Africa. It has a tribal feel and there is a flourishing epicness about it. I could imagine this being a charity song actually. Paul's vocals are keen and he seems to be enjoying the summery melody too.

      The album closes with the dubiously titled 'Sex' which has some wicked drum work from the oustet before unleashing some fiery synths to up the ante. Paul arrives just in time to turn in an edgy vocal, this is as close as the album comes to being disco and provides a stark contrast to the aforementioned songs.

      A mixed bag, but a strong soulful voice carries most of this.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Come Back And Stay
      2 Love Will Tear Us Apart
      3 Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)
      4 Ku Ku Kurama
      5 No Parlez
      6 Love Of The Common People
      7 Oh Women
      8 Iron Out The Rough Spots
      9 Broken Man
      10 Tender Trap
      11 Sex

    Products you might be interested in