Welcome! Log in or Register

Now That's What I Call Music! 59

  • image
£159.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Compilation / Artist: Various Artists / Audio CD released 2004-11-15 at EMI/Virgin

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.08.2009 12:18



      Not one of the best

      The Now! Series of albums has been around since 1983 and were one of the first big compilation albums and first albums to be released on two discs. Now Thats What I Call Music 59 was released in late 2004 and is filled with 43 songs from that time that do take you back those 5 years! I do think however that this album is quite dissapointing. The Now! series of compilation albums were meant to have an edge on the competition because of the deal between the "big four" record labels, allowing them to have mostly big hits. As I'm looking at the track list now though, I cant seem to find any songs that I would have really classed as big hits. There are a few popular songs, such as Lets get it started by the Black Eyed Peas and These Words by Natasha Bedingfield but I mean "Hip to Hip" by "V" and "Dannii Minogue vs Flower Power", Ive never even heard of these. Out of the 43 tracks on this album, I would say that only 10 of them..and thats at a stretch are worth listening to.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      06.02.2009 12:22
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A decent Now compilation

      Now 59 is the last of three Now That's What I Call Music compilations to be released in 2004. It features a lot of the chart music betweent he end of the summer and the beginning of November of that year, a lot of which is good and reminds me of some good times. There are a few tracks I'm not too enamoured with, but I find that often happens with compilation albums with me. The compilation follows a normal trend whereby the majority of the tracks on the first disc are more poppy chart tracks, while the second disc features more RnB and dance hits.

      The first disc has 21 tracks. It starts off with Blue's Curtain Falls, which I wasn't particularly a fan of, but I did like the next few songs such as Natasha Bedingfield's These Words and Thunderbirds by Busted (but don't go telling anyone!). McFly's Obviously and Keane's Bedshaped are favourites of mine, and Hoobastank's The Reason was an excellent track. I was a fan of Duncan James and Keedie's collaboration I Believe My Heart - I thought it a beautiful track, and a nice one to end the disc on.

      The second disc starts off with a couple of tracks that I didn't like, although I see the appeal. Daniel Bedingfield's Nothing Hurts Like Love and Jamelia's Stop just grate on me. Black Eyed Peas' Let's Get It Started is an instant winner and I like the catchy Joss Stone number You Had Me. Ice Cube still continues to release them every now and then, and his You Can Do It remix was a good one for me, as was the catchy The Weekend from Michael Gray. However, the rest of the tracks didn't really do anything for me, and I wasn't particularly impressed, particularly with Danni Minogue and Flowerpower's collaboration with You Won't Forget About Me. Sorry - I did!

      Overall, this is an okay Now release. I liked the first disc a lot more than the second, and while there wasn't much that I didn't like in particular, a lot of the tracks on the second disc just didn't seem great enough for such a prestigious compilation. However, as ever, we are all entitled to our opinion, and that is my feeling on Now 59. There have been better Now That's What I Call Music compilation albums, but there have definitely been worse ones too! Now 59 is currently available from amazon.co.uk for £2.90 for a new copy, and a little less for a used one.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Blue - Curtain Falls
      2 Maroon 5 - She Will Be Loved
      3 Natasha Bedingfield - These Words
      4 Robbie Williams - Radio
      5 Busted - Thunderbirds
      6 Eric Prydz - Call On Me
      7 Girls Aloud - Love Machine
      8 McFly - Obviously
      9 Rachel Stevens - More, More, More
      10 Darius - Kinda Love
      11 V - Hip To Hip
      12 JoJo - Leave (Get Out)
      13 Jay Sean - Stolen
      14 Scissor Sisters - Mary
      15 Keane - Bedshaped
      16 The Libertines - Can't Stand Me Now
      17 Hoobastank - The Reason
      18 Embrace - Gravity
      19 Lucie Silvas - What You're Made Of
      20 Ronan Keating - I Hope You Dance
      21 Duncan James & Keedie -I Believe My Heart

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Daniel Bedingfield - Nothing Hurts Like Love
      2 Jamelia - Stop
      3 R. Kelly - Happy People
      4 Nelly - My Place
      5 Black Eyed Peas - Let's Get It Started
      6 Kelis feat. André 3000 - Millionaire
      7 3 Of A Kind - Baby Cakes
      8 Khia - My Neck My Back (Lick It) (Kardinal Beats Clean Radio Edit)
      9 Ice Cube feat. Mack 10 & Ms. Toi - You Can Do It (2004)
      10 Joss Stone - You Had Me
      11 Christina Milian feat. Joe Budden- Whatever U Want
      12 Sugababes - Caught In A Moment
      13 The Pirates feat. Enya, Shola Ama, Naila Boss & Ishani - You Should Really Know
      14 Houston - I Like That
      15 Mousse T feat. Emma Lanford - Is It Cos I'm Cool?
      16 Deep Dish - Flashdance
      17 Angel City feat. Lara McAllen - Do You Know (I Go Crazy)
      18 Michael Gray - The Weekend
      19 Intenso Project feat. Lisa Scott-Lee - Get It On
      20 Dannii Minogue vs FlowerPower - You Won't Forget About Me
      21 Danzel - Pump It Up
      22 Eyeopener - Hungry Eyes

    Products you might be interested in