Welcome! Log in or Register

Now That's What I Call Music! 60

  • image
£40.00 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Compilation / Artist: Various Artists / Audio CD released 2005-03-21 at EMI/Virgin

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.02.2009 13:25
      Very helpful



      A decent Now compilation

      Now 60 was the first Now That's What I Call Music compilation CD to be released in 2005. I personally wasn't that enamoured with chart music in 2005, although there are some decent tracks on this compilationfrom the start, and it goes to show that even a year where the music doesn't really impress you can hold a pile of gems in its first part. The CD, as with the majority of Now CDs, features a good mix of regular chart music as well as a good selection of dance and RnB tracks which don't usually feature quite so heavily.

      Disc 1 starts off well, wth Gwen Stefani's What You Waiting For? and is followed immediately by Sunset Strippers' Falling Stars, which I found catchy. Kylie, McFly and Nelly round off a good start. I wasn't a fan of Joss Stone's Spoiled or Geri's Ride It, but Girls Aloud's version of the Pretenders classic I'll Stand By You was well received and Shapeshifters' Back to Basics was a good addition. The rest of the tracks are okay, and I actually quite liked this disc.

      The second disc starts off with U2's Vertigo, which is considered a great hit, although I definitely didn't like it when compared to some of their older stuff. It's still a decent track, though. With The Killers and Stereophonics and Keane following up with more band hits, the second disc did start off well, and the inclusion of some nice tracks such as Lucie Silvas' Breathe In and the collaboration between Brian McFadden and Delta Goodrem produced the brilliant Almost Here. Tony Christie's Amarillo was an annoying track to say the least, but it got people up and out of their seats, dancing and raising money for charity, so it's alright by me. Not so much of a fan of Darius' Live Twice or Jo Jo's Baby It's You, but the rest of the tracks are decent enough on this disc.

      Overall, this is a decent offering from the Now crew, with some gems mingled in amongst it. I do enjoy listening to this compilation. Perhaps it is the memories it stirs from the first part of 2005 or just the fact that some of the music is just very good. There are a few song choices I wouldn't have made, but then you can't please everyone, especially where the Now compilations are concerned, as they do go on the chart results to a large extent. A decent release, Now 60 is currently available from amazon.co.uk for around the £3 mark for a new copy.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      24.01.2009 20:08



      solid abum

      You really cannot go wrong with the Now albums, they have been around since the eighties and they always sell brilliantly. In the days of the digital age, they are still selling well on CD and it is easy to see why. You get two discs crammed full of some of the biggest current hits. It will save you money if you had intended to go out and buy the tracks individually.

      Tracks: There are 43 tracks on this album, instant good value for money. Artists include Kylie, McFly, Akon, Joss Stone, U2, Atomic Kitten amongst others.

      Best tracks: Killers' 'Somebody Told Me' is a brilliant rock workout with feisty vocals and furious guitar riffs. Also check out 'Dakota' by the Stereophonics, their first UK number one single.

      Styles: You have pop with Kylie, Geri, Girls Aloud. You have r and b with Akon and Nelly, rock with U2 and Killers and er the novelty hit with Tony Christie, so all bases covered.

      Artwork: Usual Now! standard, pretty catchy and bright

      Price: You can pick these up in stores for about £13, possibly cheaper online

      Verdict: A solid album here


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Gwen Stefani - What You Waiting For?
    2 Sunset Strippers - Falling Stars
    3 Kylie Minogue - I Believe In You
    4 McFly - All About You
    5 Nelly feat. Tim McGraw - Over And Over
    6 Lemar - If There’s Any Justice
    7 Girls Aloud - I’ll Stand By You
    8 Uniting Nations - Out Of Touch
    9 Scissor Sisters - Filthy/Gorgeous
    10 The Chemical Brothers - Galvanize
    11 LL Cool J feat. 7 Aurelius - Hush
    12 Ashanti - Only U
    13 Ciara feat. Petey Pablo - Goodies
    14 Akon - Locked Up
    15 Joss Stone - Spoiled
    16 Verbalicious - Don’t Play Nice
    17 Shapeshifters - Back To Basics
    18 Geri - Ride It
    19 The Lovefreekz - Shine
    20 Reflekt feat. Delline Bass - Need To Feel Loved
    21 Soul Central feat. Kathy Brown - Strings Of Life (Stronger On My Own)
    22 Styles & Breeze - Heartbeatz

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 U2 - Vertigo
    2 The Killers - Somebody Told Me
    3 Stereophonics - Dakota
    4 Keane - This Is The Last Time
    5 Bloc Party - So Here We Are
    6 Athlete - Wires
    7 Robbie Williams - Misunderstood
    8 Ronan Keating feat. Yusuf Islam - Father And Son
    9 Darius - Live Twice
    10 Daniel Bedingfield - Wrap My Words Around You
    11 Lucie Silvas - Breathe In
    12 Doves - Black And White Town
    13 The Bravery - An Honest Mistake
    14 Freefaller - Do This! Do That!
    15 Thirteen Senses - Thru The Glass
    16 Feeder - Tumble And Fall
    17 Raghav feat. Frankey Maxx & Jucxi D - Angel Eyes
    18 Jo Jo - Baby It’s You
    19 Atomic Kitten - Cradle
    20 Brian McFadden & Delta Goodrem - Almost Here
    21 Tony Christie - (Is This The Way To) Amarillo