Welcome! Log in or Register

Now That's What I Call Music! 63

  • image
£4.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Compilation / Artist: Various Artists / Audio CD released 2006-04-10 at EMI/Virgin

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      07.02.2009 19:19
      Very helpful



      Er......great songs, bad order placement?

      Now 63 was released to the general public in April 2006 as the first Now That's What I Call Music compilation of the year. The music it contains was, by this time, naturally familiar to the public, as the 'Now' compilations are made up of the best selling chart music, a mere selection of which we are treated to in each compilation. The previous offering, Now 62, was a favourite of mine, and I was similarly impressed with the music on offer in this release as well.

      Disc 1 contains 23 tracks, and opens very well with the melodic and catchy Put Your Records On by Corinne Bailey Rae. Sadly, she seems to have paled into insignificance more recently, which is a shame because I rate her very highly. The Black Eyed Peas do very well with the third track My Humps, while Peas' member Will.I.Am features with the Pussycat Dolls on their hit Beep. Orson, The Ordinary Boys, Sugababes and McFly feature on here as well, and the latter two bands seem to be appearing regularly on these compilations. This goes to show they have staying power with the public. I like a lot of their music, too. Sadly, I was't a fan of Son of Dork's offering Ticket Outta Loserville, nor the Girls Aloud track See The Day that the disc ended on.

      Disc 2 has the nostalgic JCB Song from Nizlopi as a starter, which is a good song but kind of depressing for the start of a compilation album. Nature's Law by Embrace is similarly morose, and the disc does continue in much the same vein for a large part. However, Goldfrapp, Gorillaz and then Sunblock celebrating Baywatch with I'll Be Ready liven things up a bit towards the latter part of the disc. I'm not criticising the song selection, merely the order with which they are placed. I find it hard to become enthusiastic about the second disc with the more morose traclks starting it, and feel it would have been better starting off with some more upbeat tunes, placing the morose ones in the middle or even on the first disc.

      That all having been said, there are some excellent song choices on this compilation, and it is a very good offering from the Now crew. It is merely the track order that I wasn't too enamoured with. I felt the quality of the songs themselves was very high, and happily listen to each and every track. I just find the transition between the morose songs and then the upbeat tracks that much harder because they aren't spaced out so well as previous compilations.

      Overall, I still rate this Now compilation very highly. The quality of music here is very high, and it shows that this period in time was very strong musically. Now 63 is currently available from amazon.co.uk for £6.39 for a new copy, and from around the £3 mark for a used copy.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Corinne Bailey Rae - Put Your Records On
    2 Pussycat Dolls feat will.i.am - Beep
    3 Black Eyed Peas - My Humps
    4 Orson - No Tomorrow
    5 The Ordinary Boys - Boys Will Be Boys
    6 Meck feat. Leo Sayer - Thunder In My Heart Again
    7 Hi_Tack - Say Say Say (Waiting 4 U)
    8 Dead Or Alive - You Spin Me Round
    9 Chico - It's Chico Time
    10 Shayne Ward - That’s My Goal
    11 Sugababes - Ugly
    12 Simon Webbe - No Worries
    13 Will Young - All Time Love
    14 Kelly Clarkson - Because Of You
    15 Westlife - Amazing
    16 Andy Abraham - Hang Up
    17 McFly I Wanna Hold You
    18 Son Of Dork - Ticket Outta Loserville
    19 Friday Hill - One More Night Alone
    20 Liberty X - A Night To Remember
    21 Rihanna - If It’s Lovin’ That You Want
    22 Liz McClarnon - Woman In Love
    23 Girls Aloud - See The Day

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 JCB Song - Nizlopi
    2 Nature's Law - Embrace
    3 Advertising Space - Robbie Williams
    4 Talk (Radio Edit) - Coldplay
    5 Analogue (All I Want) - A-Ha
    6 Sewn - The Feeling
    7 Break The Night With Colour - Richard Ashcroft
    8 Sleep (Radio Edit) - Texas
    9 The Modern Way (Edit) - Kaiser Chiefs
    10 All Because Of You (Single Version) - U2
    11 Sugar, We're Goin Down - Fall Out Boy
    12 Ride A White Horse (Single Version) - Goldfrapp
    13 Dirty Harry (Single Edit) - Gorillaz
    14 Bounce, Shake, Move, Stop! (Radio Edit) - M.V.P.
    15 I'll Be Ready (Radio Version) - Sunblock
    16 Incredible (Radio Edit) - The Shapeshifters
    17 You Got The Love (New Voyager Radio Edit) - The Source Featuring Candi Staton
    18 Grow - Kubb
    19 Heartbeats - José Gonzalez

Products you might be interested in