Welcome! Log in or Register

Once Was Not - Cryptopsy

  • image
£13.05 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Cryptopsy / Audio CD released 2005-11-07 at Century Media

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      29.11.2009 16:00
      Very helpful



      Nothing spectacular but still worth a look

      Along with the introduction of new guitarist Alex Auburn, Cryptopsy's 2005 album 'Once Was Not' saw the return of original vocalist Lord Worm to the fold, meaning that the album was highly anticipated by fans disillusioned by the unsuited, hardcore barks of the band's previous replacement vocalist Mike DiSalvo. The album also saw the arrival of new guitarist Alex Auburn, and fans were hoping for a return to form after several solid but underwhelming full-length efforts.

      Whilst the band's trademark demented, jazzy tech-death-metal style is still evident on 'Once Was Not', the different sections to not gel together as well as on previous efforts, and instead the tracks seem to come across as lots of different micro-songs roughly welded together. There are also attempts at merging the band's traditional sound with acoustic, spanish guitar sections and doomier, elongated passages, and though the band should be prased for their ambition the end result is somewaht disjointed and messy, not being helped by either the murky, lacklustre production or Lord Worm's coarse shrieks and growls which, whilst welcomingly familiar and by no means poor noticably do not possess nearly the same power or range as they did on previous effort 'None So Vile' A disjointed and difficult listen, but one with merit still to be found hidden beneath the flaws.


      1. Luminum 01:45
      2. In the Kingdom Where Everything Dies, the Sky Is Mortal 05:21
      3. Carrionshine 03:22
      4. Adeste Infidelis 04:38
      5. The Curse of the Great 05:21
      6. The Frantic Pace of Dying 04:33
      7. Keeping the Cadaver Dogs Busy 05:58
      8. Angelskingarden 07:07
      9. The Pestilence That Walketh in Darkness (Psalm 91 : 5-8) 03:26
      10. The End 02:49
      11. Endless Cemetery 05:20

      Total playing time 49:40


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      16.06.2008 00:50
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Cryptopsy's fifth album (2005).

      Cryptopsy's fifth album saw the return of vocalist Lord Worm and arrival of new guitarist Alex Auburn, making for something of a confused and ultimately disappointing reunion. The band is still obsessed with proving its technical credentials at a cost to the music, now more than ever, and any time that a song seems to be going somewhere interesting, its structure is usurped by pointless tech-death masturbation, something that will attract some to this album and deter others.

      The songs now sound too long, having lost the morbid fascination of earlier releases such as 'None So Vile' in particular, and even the top-notch production job draws too much attention to the relentlessly clicking drums. Most frustrating of all, almost every song begins with an interesting experimental touch that hints at a new direction, most frequently the use of a traditional or tribal instrument, before every track collapses into the same old thing. Only 'Luminum' and 'The End' succeed in being radically different, and these are nothing more than atmospheric interludes.

      1. Luminum
      2. In the Kingdom Where Everything Dies, the Sky Is Mortal
      3. Carrionshine
      4. Adeste Infidelis
      5. The Curse of the Great
      6. The Frantic Pace of Dying
      7. Keeping the Cadaver Dogs Busy
      8. Angelskingarden
      9. The Pestilence That Walketh in Darkness (Psalm 91 : 5-8)
      10. The End
      11. Endless Cemetery


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Luminum
      2 In The Kingdom Where Everything Dies The Sky Is Mortal
      3 Carrionshine
      4 Adeste Infidelis
      5 Curse Of The Great
      6 Frantic Pace Of Dying
      7 Keeping The Cadaver Dogs Busy
      8 Angelskingarden
      9 Pestilence That Walketh In Darkness (Psalm 91 5-8)
      10 End
      11 Endless Cemetery

    Products you might be interested in