Welcome! Log in or Register

One Nation Under - Blackfire

  • image
£11.02 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Folk - American Folk / Artist: Blackfire / Audio CD released 2002-10-22 at Canyon

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      15.05.2009 18:00
      Very helpful



      Nice little album

      Initially Blackfire's album One Nation Under sounds like a blast of average US punk but after a track or two it soon becomes clear that it's very good punk indeed, it has the angst of mid 70s punk with other tangibles thrown in such as native American chanting, some more instrumental folkier parts to certain songs and vocals that are full of conviction.

      Meet Blackfire, a band out of Flagstaff, Arizona made up of three Navajo siblings, they haven't forgotten their roots - including Jones Benally (their father and his dancing troupe) and punk pioneer Joey Ramone into some of their songs on this album (actually Joey's last vocal recording before his death). Considering the history of the Native Americans, these guys have some serious fury to release.

      It comes across as calculated and well-spoken, much of the music is very political and lyrically in your face but retains their cool through the stylish take on punk. The band don't just single out their own situation but promote people to indulge in their own culture and take no shit from authorities.

      Released in 2001, this is definitely one of the better punk albums I have heard this decade. It's less folkier than I expected when I first heard about it but it works extremely well.

      01. No Control
      02. Exile
      03. Stand Strong
      04. One Nation Under
      05. Prove Them Wrong
      06. Is This Justice
      07. Dine' Gourd Dance Song
      08. Many Farms
      09. What Do You See
      10. It Ain't Over
      11. Lying To Myself
      12. Someone Else's Nightmare
      13. Level
      14. Shattered
      15. Downfall


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 No Control
    2 Exile
    3 Stand Strong
    4 One Nation Under
    5 Prove Them Wrong
    6 Is This Justice
    7 Dine's Gourd Dance Song
    8 Many Farms
    9 What Do You See
    10 It Ain't Over
    11 Lying To Myself
    12 Someone Else's Nightmare
    13 Level
    14 Shattered
    15 Downfall

Products you might be interested in