Welcome! Log in or Register

Orgasmatron - Motorhead

  • image
£6.51 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Motorhead / Audio CD released 2008-02-26 at Sanctuary

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      22.08.2008 15:07
      Very helpful



      Head-banging, vocal roaring, drum-bashing pleasure

      Except for the classic heavy-rocker "Ace of Spades", few of the general easy-going public have embraced the dirty, power-drumming, guitar-bashing of Motörhead, which is a shame.

      I started out with the best-of CD "Deaf Forever: The Best of Motörhead", which included all their top tracks, including the aforementioned Spades, as well as their gritty version of "Louie Louie", the frantic drumming of "Overkill", the hilarious 'detergent in your blood' of "I'm the Doctor", their duet with Girlschool on "Please Don't Touch", the over-powering live "Motörhead", and lastly, my personal favourite, "Deaf Forever".

      The band is built on one of the gruffest, most easily recognisable voices on the heavy rock scene: Lemmy Kilmister.

      Imagine this tall man on stage: long, dark hair, big straggly beard, leather jacket, a pair of nasty old warts poking out of his left cheek, electric guitar in hand, the microphone stand at full extension as if readied for an 8ft giant, his horrible breath struggling up to meet it, his whole body swaying drunkenly from side to side.

      He is in the middle of some of the loudest music you will ever hear.

      And the crowds?

      Well, I was mostly deaf by this point, and blinded by the ten minute long strobe lighting of "Overkill".

      "Deaf Forever" indeed.

      This is the first track of the imposing "Orgasmatron" album, with a strong riff to melt faces combined with Lemmy roaring some excellent lyrics between the relatively slow drumming.

      The cover art by Joe Petagno, of a dirty great beast train, its eyes glowing molten and its mouth snarling with great sharp teeth, should give you an idea of what is to come.

      I think this is the first Motörhead album I've come across with a full array of strong tracks, unlike the albums "Bomber", "Ace of Spades" and "Overkill", which all had their fair share of forgettables.

      Track 4 is "Claw", which begins with and continues a thunderous drumming throughout, and contains unusual screams from Lemmy, nearly tearing his throat out in the process.

      He sure loves that claw.

      Except for "Deaf Forever", I hadn't heard any of the other songs on the album before sitting down to listen to it, and I think my favourite out of these new ones is "Doctor Rock", an excellent combination of strong lyrics and fierce guitar, like a heavier version of "I'm the Doctor".

      Straight after, there's the title track "Orgasmatron", a soul-sucking horror that needs to be pumped up to full volume.

      "I am the one, Orgasmatron, the oustretched grasping hand, My image is of agony, my servants rape the land."

      Basically, it's an attack on organised religion, and Lemmy makes no allusion to this, with roaring "My name is called religion, sadistic, sacred whore," combining his hatred towards all sorts of movements, be them religious, political or musical.

      Overall, this album contains some absolute blinders, with some fantastic vocal work from Lemmy, amid guitar and drum work to tear brains apart.

      The full track listing is "Deaf Forever", "Nothing Up My Sleeve", "Ain't My Crime", "Claw", "Mean Machine", "Built for Speed", "Ridin' with the Driver", "Doctor Rock", "Orgasmatron".

      My CD is the reissue, so it also included the bonus tracks "On the Road (live)", "Steal Your Face (live)" and "Claw (alternative version)".


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Deaf Forever
      2 Nothing Up My Sleeve
      3 Ain't My Crime
      4 Claw
      5 Mean Machine
      6 Built For Speed
      7 Ridin' With The Driver
      8 Dr Rock
      9 Orgasmatron
      10 On The Road
      11 Steal Your Face
      12 Claw (2)