Welcome! Log in or Register

Past Masters - The Beatles

  • image
£8.99 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Classic Rock / Artist: The Beatles / Original recording remastered / Audio CD released 2009-09-09 at EMI

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      26.06.2012 12:31
      Very helpful



      For true Beatles fans only.

      The Beatles need no introduction. Anyone reading this review will presumably be familiar enough with the fab four and will no doubt own an album or 2. If like me, you own all 12 (13 if you include Magical Mystery Tour EP) of the studio albums, this album may be for you. It is a compilation of songs recorded by the band that were not included on any of the original LP's (records, for the younger readers out there...).

      For the most part, these songs will already be very familiar as a lot of them were released as singles and have appeared on other big selling compilation albums such as '1' and the 'red'and 'blue' albums.

      For anybody that considers themselves a fan, songs such as 'Love Me Do', 'Paperback Writer' and 'Hey Jude' will already be somewhere in your collection. So is it worth buying this double album?

      Well, personally I think so as I found some recordings that I had never heard before and I some songs I realised that I knew really well but did not actually own a copy of them, such as 'She's a Woman' and 'This Boy'.

      Songs I already had and are so popular they hardly deserve inclusion on this compilation:

      Love Me Do
      From Me To You
      She Loves You
      I Want To Hold Your Hand
      I Feel Fine
      Day Tripper
      We Can Work It Out
      Paperback Write
      Lady Madonna
      Hey Jude
      Get Back
      Let It Be

      Which leaves a few crackers and a few pointless fillers - and one or 2 that sit somewhere in between.

      There are a few oldies that I had forgotten such as I'll Get You, Thank You Girl, This Boy and I Call Your Name. There are also a few relatively newer songs that despite being quite well know deserve inclusion on the album (Rain, Ballad of John and Yoko, Don't Let Me Down. Across The Universe).

      For me, the German versions of She Loves You and I Want To Hold Your Hand (Sie Liebt Dich and Komm, Gib Mir Deine Hand) are a bit pointless - even if you speak German. They sound exactly like the originals apart from the lyrics and offer nothing new.

      Out of the remaining songs there are a few cracking covers of rock and roll classics - Long tall Sally ( amazing vocal) and Bad Boy (my personal favourite) and Slow Down. Another favourite of mine is the McCartney vocal on the Beatles original number I'm Down. Perfect rock and roll!

      The album is padded out with a few other covers like the Carl Perking tune Matchbox and the George Harrison number Old Brown Tune.

      Overall, there are better Beatles compilations out there like the 2 I mentioned earlier and the Anthology series. But for the true Beatles aficionado, it is worth a buy for the few diamonds in the rough.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Love Me Do (Original Single Version) (2009 - Remaster)
    2 From Me To You (2009 - Remaster)
    3 Thank You Girl (2009 - Remaster)
    4 She Loves You (2009 - Remaster)
    5 I'll Get You (2009 - Remaster)
    6 I Want To Hold Your Hand (2009 - Remaster)
    7 This Boy (2009 - Remaster)
    8 Komm Gib Mir Deine Hand (2009 - Remaster)
    9 Sie Liebt Dich (2009 - Remaster)
    10 Long Tall Sally (2009 - Remaster)
    11 I Call Your Name (2009 - Remaster)
    12 Slow Down (2009 - Remaster)
    13 Matchbox (2009 - Remaster)
    14 I Feel Fine (2009 - Remaster)
    15 She's A Woman (2009 - Remaster)
    16 Bad Boy (2009 - Remaster)
    17 Yes It Is (2009 - Remaster)
    18 I'm Down (2009 - Remaster)

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Day Tripper (2009 - Remaster)
    2 We Can Work It Out (2009 - Remaster)
    3 Paperback Writer (2009 - Remaster)
    4 Rain (2009 - Remaster)
    5 Lady Madonna (2009 - Remaster)
    6 The Inner Light (2009 - Remaster)
    7 Hey Jude (2009 - Remaster)
    8 Revolution (2009 - Remaster)
    9 Get Back (2009 - Remaster)
    10 Don't Let Me Down (2009 - Remaster)
    11 The Ballad Of John And Yoko (2009 - Remaster)
    12 Old Brown Shoe (2009 - Remaster)
    13 Across The Universe (2009 - Remaster)
    14 Let It Be (2009 - Remaster)
    15 You Know My Name (Look Up The Number) (2009 - Remaster)

Products you might be interested in