Welcome! Log in or Register

Penetralia - Hypocrisy

  • image
£27.84 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Hypocrisy / Audio CD released 2002-01-21 at No Idea

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      24.07.2008 00:07
      Very helpful



      Hypocrisy's first album (1992).

      'Penetralia' is the debut from influential Swedish death metal band Hypocrisy, and still ranks among their most aggressive releases. The production quality is surprisingly high for a death metal debut of the early nineties, fleshing out the bass and only really faltering on the synthetic sound of the drums, especially evident in the opening drum roll of 'God Is a Lie.'

      So, yeah, a quick glance at the tracklist and a listen to the growled, easily-discerned lyrics makes it clear that this is entirely content to slot into the anti-Christian gimmick of early nineties death metal, demonstrated best by bands like Deicide, but while the subject matter isn't the most inventive in the world, Peter Tägtgren's guitar work is unique in the genre, ranging from catchy yet standard death metal riffs to original solos and lead melodies in all songs, a far cry from the standard, Slayer-derived death metal squeal.

      1. Impotent God
      2. Suffering Souls
      3. Nightmare
      4. Jesus Fall
      5. God Is a Lie
      6. Left to Rot
      7. Burn by the Cross
      8. To Escape Is to Die
      9. Take the Throne
      10. Penetralia


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Impotent God
      2 Suffering Souls
      3 Nightmare
      4 Jesus Fall
      5 God Is A...
      6 Left to Rot
      7 Burn the Cross
      8 To Escape Is to Die
      9 Take the Throne
      10 Penetralia

    Products you might be interested in