Welcome! Log in or Register

Perfect Sym - Fates Warning

  • image
£4.65 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Fates Warning / Audio CD released 2007-01-01 at METALBLADE

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      08.07.2008 21:19
      Very helpful



      Fates Warning's fifth album (1989).

      'Perfect Symmetry' marks Fates Warning's crossover from progressively-minded heavy metal band to full-blown prog metal act, retaining the classic metal influence in the guitar solos, dual lead harmonies and the occasional riff (such as the Helloween style guitars of 'Static Acts,' the most traditionally metal song on here along with the shrieking 'The Arena'), but otherwise defining its own impressive, though rather repetitive sound.

      Ray Adler's vocals sound distinctly like Geoff Tate of Queensrÿche, which can't help the band's case for individuality against that genre competitor, but the keyboards of Kevin Moore (also playing in Dream Theater at the time) create a great atmosphere that the rest of the music sadly fails to completely fill out in a satisfying way.

      The album is spoiled by a few too many slow songs and ballads, but is otherwise still a relevant and enjoyable entry in the progressive metal canon, and one of its formative works.

      1. Part of the Machine
      2. Through Different Eyes
      3. Static Acts
      4. A World Apart
      5. At Fate's Hands
      6. The Arena
      7. Chasing Time
      8. Nothing Left to Say


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Part of the Machine
    2 Through Different Eyes
    3 Static Acts
    4 World Apart
    5 At Fate's Hands
    6 Arena
    7 Chasing Time
    8 Nothing Left to Say

Products you might be interested in