Welcome! Log in or Register

Pink Friday ... Roman Reloaded - Nicki Minaj

  • image
£24.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hip-Hop & Rap / Artist: Nicki Minaj / CD / Audio CD released 2012-04-02 at Universal / Island

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      19.08.2012 18:48
      Very helpful



      Rap fans should avoid, pop fans should consider buying Rihanna instead.

      Nicki Minaj is arguably the only female rapper around currently in the music industry. She is self-made and has worked extremely hard to make people pay attention to her. However, her talent is very questionable, especially on this poor sophmore attempt to the slightly better debut Pink Friday. Nicki lacks direction and this album seems very rushed; as if she used recycled beats and lazily wrote her rhymes. If Ms Minaj is really a rapper, why is this album targeted to young girls who enjoy cheesy pop music, apart from the obvious lucrative impact. Rap fans, which largely includes males of all ages, would never give the time of day to more than half of the songs on this album. Another pet peeve is her annoying animated voice which should only be used on 'special' occasions, rather than all over the album, making her sound like a female possessed. All in all this album demonstrates the fact that Nicki is trying to leave her Hip Hop roots way behind.

      Starships is a very popular single overseas and in the UK but sounds like everything else on the radio; you wouldn't know it was Ms. Minaj unless someone told you. The chorus sounds very 90's dance inspired and rap fans are left scratching their head. Beez in the trap is a very poor attempt to emulate a hard rap song as it just sounds forced and irritating. Imagine your little sister trying to rap like Young Jeezy at home for the first time. Right by my side demonstrates that Nicki has some talent when she does not try too hard and Chris Brown saves her by providing some decent departure from her 'raps'. Gun shot is a very decent song with Beenie Man and leaves the listener wondering what could have been had Nicki stuck to what she knows; Hip Hop. Champion is a very commendable song but Nicki is overshadowed by her features and fades into the back. Another problem is that she utilised her features in the worst ways possible; instead of using them to complement her, they either seem abrasive like they did on her last CD or they seem very distanced, as if they just churned out a generic verse in a far away studio somewhere and emailed it to her. Rap fans avoid, Pop fans buy an authentic pop artist, and young girls you may enjoy this but on a sidenote, look for a better role model!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Roman Holiday
    2 Come on a Cone
    3 I Am Your Leader (ft. Cam'ron & Rick Ross)
    4 Beez in the Trap (ft. 2 Chainz)
    5 HOV Lane
    6 Roman Reloaded (ft. Lil Wayne)
    7 Champion (ft. Nas, Drake & Young Jeezy)
    8 Right By My Side (ft. Chris Brown)
    9 Sex in the Lounge (ft. Lil Wayne & Bobby V)
    10 Starships
    11 Pound the Alarm
    12 Whip It
    13 Automatic
    14 Beautiful Sinner
    15 Marilyn Monroe
    16 Young Forever
    17 Fire Burns
    18 Gun Shot ft. Beenie Man
    19 Stupid Hoe

Products you might be interested in