Welcome! Log in or Register

Pop Party 6

  • image
£1.50 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Various Artists / Box set / Audio CD released 2008-10-27 at UMTV

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      26.08.2009 13:30
      Very helpful




      The number 6 suggests I have missed the last five of the Pop Parties, my loss I am sure. You get two discs here, one CD with 22 pop fuelled songs and a bonus karaoke disc so you can sing along to your idols.

      The main disc starts off with the sassy 'Girls' by Sugababes, which I find hard to listen to without thinking of the Boots advert and women sitting in an office getting out lipsticks. The Ting Tings is part genius and part insanity. I am not sure I can take much more of that Katy woman crowing 'That's Not My Name!'

      Younger fans will be rewarded with the Jonas Brothers, kind of like a modern day Osmonds, only with better hair. If you need something soulful, then Mr Smooth, Ne Yo is at hand to deliver the slick r and b anthem 'Closer' which sounds great loud.

      I can pass on Avenue, whose lame attempt at a pop song sounds dated and lacks bite. I can also skip over Scouting For Girls quite easily, they should change their name to Scouting For More Than Two Chords.

      The Saturdays provide some much needed glamour and chic with the sexy 'If This Is Love' which samples Yazoo to great effect. Ugh, Mika! The man makes my skin crawl and I start to come over all queer when I hear his music. Admittedly, 'Grace Kelly' was a flash of brilliance, but 'Love Today' sounds like a nursery rhyme and really is hideous.

      German techno is supplied from stalwarts Scooter, who must all be about eighty by now, before the Real Booty Babes rehash Katy Perry for a pumping high energy dance version of 'I Kissed A Girl'.

      If you fancy the karaoke side of things, McFly and Jonas Brothers will please the lovestruck girls, so they can pretend to be Dougie and thingy. Not sure how you pretend to be Will I Am though...I would go for the Gabriella Cilmi track, she sounds like a cat being mauled, so even if you slaughter the song, you'll still be somewhere close.

      Not a bad CD, but more useful for less discerning audiences.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Sugababes - Girls
      2 The Ting Tings - That's Not My Name
      3 Rihanna
      4 Pussycat Dolls
      5 Mcfly - One For The Radio
      6 Ne-Yo - Closer
      7 Jonas Brothers - SOS
      8 Will.I.Am Feat. Cheryl Tweedy - Heartbreaker
      9 Taio Cruz - She's Like A Star
      10 Abba - Mamma Mia
      11 Avenue - The Last Goodbye
      12 The Saturdays - If This Is Love
      13 Girls Aloud - Can't Speak French
      14 Scouting For Girls - She's So Lovely
      15 Gabriella Cilmi
      16 Mika - Love Today
      17 Hoosiers - Goodbye Mr. A
      18 Mcfly - Don't Stop Me Now
      19 Ashlee Simpson, Timbaland - Outta My Head
      20 Cascada - What Hurts The Most
      21 Scooter - Jumping All Over The World
      22 Real Booty Babes - I Kissed A Girl

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 Rihanna
      2 Mcfly - One For The Radio (karaoke)
      3 Jonas Brothers - Sos Instr (karaoke)
      4 Ne-Yo - Closer (karaoke)
      5 Avenue - The Last Goodbye (karaoke)
      6 Taio Cruz - She's Like A Star (karaoke)
      7 Gabriella Cilmi
      8 Will.I.Am Feat. Cheryl Tweedy - Heartbreaker (karaoke)
      9 Mcfly - Don't Stop Me Now (karaoke)
      10 Mika - Love Today (karaoke)
      11 Hoosiers - Goodbye Mr. A (karaoke)
      12 Souting For Girls - She's So Lovely (karaoke)
      13 Ashlee Simpson, Timbaland - Outta My Head (karaoke)

    Products you might be interested in