Welcome! Log in or Register

Postcards From Hell - Get Amped

  • image
£8.31 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Hardcore / Artist: Get Amped / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2006-04-17 at Strong Like Bull

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      28.06.2008 18:13
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      'Postcards From Hell' is an album which is well worth owning.

      'Postcards From Hell' is the exciting 2006 album release from the great UK based band that is Get Amped. The album was released through StrongLikeBull Records, seventeen super melodic punk tracks are featured here and never does the music created by the band here fail to impress. Think of bands such as The Offspring, and then imagine a hard rock influence also and you'll come some way close to understanding the sound of Get Amped. The guitar riffs are heavy, the music is greatly melodious however, and vocally the sound is always incredibly well put across by the band here.

      The album begins with one of the instrumentally heaviest tracks on this album; title track 'Postcards from Hell' possesses a super guitar riff and an absolutely infectious chorus also. It's an incredibly well put across piece of punk music, the instrumental element is incredibly hard hitting, the vocals however are sweetly spoken and always supremely soft and gentle. The band actually cites two of its earliest influences as Iron Maiden and Queen, this certainly comes across in the instrumental ethic of the band; the music is however rooted very much in the genre of melodic pop punk.

      The lyrics always put across powerful messages here, it's easy to overlook this however as the music is just so incredibly catchy that you often find yourself distracted by this quality of the music rather than paying too much attention to the lyrical content of the album. The lyrics are incredibly intelligently constructed by the band here, this adds further depth and excellence to the album and always here the music of Get Amped is not only lyrically brilliant but instrumentally and vocally sublime also.

      Another of the bands earliest influences is actually The Police, an acknowledgement to this influence is shown here through a cover of The Police track 'Walking On The Moon'. You can tell that it's a cover track, the tone taken by the band is very different but the music is just as powerfully put across here as with the rest of the album. The band does incredibly well here of covering the track; it's a fine cover from the band and works well at the very centre of this album.

      If you're quite a fan of the poppier end of the punk spectrum then this album from Get Amped should most definitely be of great appeal. Tracks such as 'Postcards From Hell', 'Reject & Sterilise', and powerful closing track 'Black Clouds' also are some of the bands finest moments from this album; all of these tracks are absolutely excellent and I'd highly recommend all to listen to them. From start to finish here this album from Get Amped is absolutely magnificent, the music has so much to offer and in all areas the bands music impresses greatly. Every track on this album is incredibly well created and crafted, never does the music cease to amaze and always the band shows itself to be exceptional as it blasts through these fine seventeen tracks of music.

      Label: Strong Like Bull
      Release Date: April 17th 2006

      Originally posted by me on my website Alt-UK.com
      Source: http://www.alt-uk.com/modules.php?name=Reviews


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Intro
      2 Postcards From Hell
      3 Reject And Sterilise
      4 Tyrannosaurus
      5 In Loving Memory
      6 Short Fuse
      7 It's In Control
      8 All That I Wanted
      9 Walking On The Moon
      10 God Of The Zombies
      11 Replay
      12 Find Someone
      13 Dougals Dit
      14 Plug Me In
      15 Across The Sound
      16 Black Clouds

    Products you might be interested in