Welcome! Log in or Register

Powerplant - Gamma Ray

  • image
£89.95 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Speed Metal & Thrash / Artist: Gamma Ray / Audio CD released 2005-01-31

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.07.2008 08:47
      Very helpful



      Gamma Ray's sixth album (1999).

      'Powerplant' is the point at which Gamma Ray ceases to sound original, or even like a Helloween imitation, but rather seems to embody the heavy metal genre in its plagiarism (intentional or accidental) of melodies, riffs and styles of their influences, most evidently the likes of Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, and even Manowar in the case of the truly awful lyrics of 'Heavy Metal Universe.'

      The instrumentation is still mostly impressive, particularly Kai Hansen's riffs and overlong solos, but the constantly bashing rhythm of the drums becomes tedious as early as the first song. While hardly any of these songs are particularly bad (the aforementioned 'Heavy Metal Universe' being a notable low point), they mostly fail to stand out in the same way as the previous two albums, the two exceptions being the fast and catchy 'Gardens of the Sinner' and the lengthy closing epic 'Armageddon,' which should satisfy those looking for something bombastic and over-the-top in the tradition of 'Bohemian Rhapsody.'

      1. Anywhere in the Galaxy
      2. Razorblade Sigh
      3. Send Me a Sign
      4. Strangers in the Night
      5. Gardens of the Sinner
      6. Short as Hell
      7. It's a Sin (Pet Shop Boys cover)
      8. Heavy Metal Universe
      9. Wings of Destiny
      10. Hand of Fate
      11. Armageddon


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Anywhere in the Galaxy
    2 Razorblade Sigh
    3 Send Me a Sign
    4 Strangers in the Night
    5 Gardens of the Sinner
    6 Short as Hell
    7 It's a Sin
    8 Heavy Metal Universe
    9 Wings of Destiny
    10 Hand of Fate
    11 Armageddon
    12 While in Dreamland [*]
    13 Rich and Famous [*]
    14 Long Live Rock 'N' Roll [*]

Products you might be interested in