Welcome! Log in or Register

Purgatory Afterglow - Edge Of Sanity

  • image
£15.25 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Edge Of Sanity / Audio CD released 2004-07-18 at Black Mark

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.07.2008 20:55
      Very helpful



      Edge of Sanity's fourth album (1994).

      'Purgatory Afterglow' had the potential to be a phenomenal classic of death metal, but sadly Dan Swanö and co. didn't always succeed in their experiments. Continuing the band's advancement towards a more commercially viable sound, this is truly one of the most approachable death metal albums I've ever heard, with songs such as the opener 'Twilight' in particular fusing solid death metal riffs with a catchy chorus and progressive sections, but too many songs fail to impress.

      Swanö's vocals are the most noticeable element here, for better and worse. His death metal vocals range from a low growl to a piercing shriek, the two alternating successfully in 'Of Darksome Origin,' but some of his 'clean' vocals are less well managed. The sung and spoken word sections of 'Twilight' work well, but the entirely sung 'Blood-Colored' is a mediocre attempt at death-influenced groove metal, while 'Black Tears' and 'Song of Sirens' respectively flirt with gothic metal and hardcore punk to irritating extents. There are some great ideas here, but too many negatives cancel them out.

      1. Twilight
      2. Of Darksome Origin
      3. Blood-Colored
      4. Silent
      5. Black Tears
      6. Elegy
      7. Velvet Dreams
      8. Enter Chaos
      9. The Sinner and the Sadness
      10. Song of Sirens


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Twilight
    2 Of Darksome Origin
    3 Blood-Colored
    4 Silent
    5 Black Tears
    6 Elegy
    7 Velvet Dreams
    8 Enter Chaos
    9 Sinner and the Sadness
    10 Song of Sirens

Products you might be interested in