Welcome! Log in or Register

Ragnarok - Týr

  • image
£11.69 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: TYR / Audio CD released 2006-10-02 at Napalm

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.10.2008 15:12
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Keep your money in your pocket

      Ragnarok is Tyr's 3rd album, released in 2006 on Napalm Records having moved away from their previous deal with the small Faroese record label Tutl.

      There were good and bad aspects of Tyr's 2003 album Eric the Red but their 2006 follow up Ragnarok certainly wasn''t put together in a hurry and the band had plenty of time to focus on the good aspects.

      Perhaps the things that they found good and the things that I found good are different because I would say that Ragnarok is nowhere near on par with Eric The Red, what it has done is taken the poppy theme of Eric The Red which seems even tamer than their Proclaimers type vocals previously used.

      The lyrics in Faroese are incomprehendible to the non-speaking majority and are a bit too songbirdish and twee for my liking. The band particularly seem to boast of eclectic tracks but there's very little to seperate the various styles used on this album and I personally find that it gets a bit tedious despite the occasional good albeit not spectacular guitar solo. The band have tended to stick with their formula of using well known (at least in the Faroe Islands) traditional songs but haven't added Danish and Irish tracks like the previous album.

      1. Beginning, The
      2. Hammer of Thor, The
      3. Envy
      4. Brother's Bane
      5. Burning, The
      6. Ride to Hell, The
      7. Torstein's Kvaedi
      8. Grimur a Midalnesi
      9. Wings of Time
      10. Rage of the Skullgaffer, The
      11. Hunt, The
      12. Victory
      13. Lord of Lies
      14. Gjallarhornid
      15. Ragnarok
      16. End, The


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Beginning
      2 Hammer Of Thor
      3 Envy
      4 Brothers Bane
      5 Burning
      6 Ride To Hell
      7 Torsteins Kvaeoi
      8 Grimur A Mioalnesi
      9 Wings Of Time
      10 Rage Of The Skullgaffer
      11 Hunt
      12 Victory
      13 Lord Of Lies
      14 Gjallarhornio
      15 Ragnarok
      16 End

    Products you might be interested in