Welcome! Log in or Register

Ram Records Story Vol.3 - Roy Perkins

  • image
£13.89 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Blues - Modern Blues / Artist: Roy Perkins / Audio CD released 1996-04-01 at Ace

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      02.10.2007 23:38
      Not Helpful



      Why Ram are the number one dnb record label

      Before you read this review have a look at the last review written about the mighty Ram Records. It was written 6 years ago, when Ram were going through a debatable dip in form. I think they have shown over recent years why they have a buy on sight mark of quality, with excellent releases from Sub Focus, Shimon, Nosia, Chase & Status, Fresh and Xample. For they the last 15 years they have consistently released quality basslines, recognising more than other labels like Formation and Bingo the importance of quality over quantity, and of course they have DNB legend Andy C at the helm making sure they are one step ahead of the rest.


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      18.01.2001 16:13
      Very helpful



      Ram were one of my favourite labels when I first got into D n B. No-one with any heritage in breaks thru the 90's can have missed Vally of the Shadows, Quest etc. Just runnin' tunes. Andy C, Shimon and the rest have always been at the front of the scene for pushing new sounds and technology. But I reckon that backfired for a while. The RAM Trilogy releases took on a metallic, hyper almost techno sound, which to my ears was a bit cold. CLever, but without the soul of some of the previous material. This is a reflection of the whole scene at the end of the 90's. The hard, fast and heavy sounds coming thru diluted the emotion of the tunes. BUT.... having listened to some of the new stuff, these guys are right on track again! Maybe a new sound needs developing, but what I've heard of the latest releases, the RAM Raiders and Molten Beats Lp, are the bomb. And it's due to THE FUNK. Yeah that's what these tracks have!! Come on the RAM.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Drop Top
    2 That's What The Mailman Had To Say
    3 Hey Lawdy Mama
    4 Just Another Lie
    5 Tell Me You Love Me (And Give Me The Reason Why)
    6 Am I The One
    7 Ba Da
    8 Please Be True
    9 Cooking Catfish
    10 Tired Of Hanging Around - Page, Bobby & The Riff Raffs
    11 Drop Top (1)
    12 Ginning - Patin, Scatman & The Ram Rods
    13 Girl Next Door - Page, Bobby & The Riff Raffs
    14 I Love My Baby - Page, Bobby & The Riff Raffs
    15 Red Beans And Rice - Patin, Scatman & The Ram Rods
    16 Hey Lawdy Mama (1)
    17 It's All Over
    18 These Blues Are Here To Stay
    19 Anything Your Heart Desires - Simoneaux, Harry & The Riff Raffs
    20 Hippt Ti Yo - Page, Bobby & The Riff Raffs
    21 This Time - Page, Bobby & The Riff Raffs
    22 Like Twist - Page, Bobby & The Riff Raffs
    23 Loneliness - Page, Bobby & The Riff Raffs
    24 True Love
    25 Sweet Lily

Products you might be interested in