Welcome! Log in or Register

Reborn - Northern Kings

  • image
£10.72 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal / Artist: Northern Kings / CD / Audio CD released 2008-08-18 at Warner Music Entertainment

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      06.06.2009 20:56
      Very helpful




      When I first heard about this album, I was desperate to get my hands on a copy. After all, featuring the vocalists from 4 of my favourite Finnish metal bands, how could I resist?

      This album brings together the vocal talents of Marco Hietala (Nightwish, Tarot), Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica), J-P Leppäluoto (Charon) and Jarkko Ahola (Teräsbetoni), all well known names in the Finnish metal scene. Together they cover well known 80's pop and rock songs but in a heavier and more symphonic style.

      Disappointingly though, only one song actually involves all four songs, the other 12 tracks, are each done individually. This does make said track, 'We Don't Need Another Hero', the highlight of the album.

      This album is truly a mixed bag of offerings. Whilst it opens bombastically with 'Don't Stop Believin'' and 'We Don't Need Another Hero' which both make the originals seem rather lifeless and unexciting, as we progress further in to the album with tracks such as Rebel Yell, the attempts to make the songs seem heavier actually make the songs feel dragged out and boring, though in this particular case, does accentuate the melancholy style of J-P Leppäluoto's voice.

      That said, the cover of 'Creep' is far more haunting and theatrical than the original, 'Broken Wings' starts off strongly, though Tony Kakko's voice does at times seem to not quite fit and does drag further along, 'Don't Bring Me Down' is a complete reinvention of the original, fast paced and lively, showing off the versatility of Jarkko Ahola's voice. For those who of late, have heard Phil Collin's 'In the Air Tonight' more than enough times, than Marco Hietala's rendition may prove a light relief, altogether more edgy than the aforementioned version.

      Ultimately, this album is good fun for those who are fans of the members other bands and indeed, can prove an entertaining listen for anyone who enjoys listening to alternate versions of well known songs. However, after a couple of listens, the weaker tracks on this album really let it down and make it difficult to listen to in its entirety.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Don't Stop Believin'
      2 We Don't Need Another Hero
      3 Broken Wings
      4 Rebel Yell
      5 Ashes To Ashes
      6 Fallen On Hard Times
      7 I Just Died In Your Arms
      8 Sledgehammer
      9 Don't Bring Me Down
      10 In The Air Tonight
      11 Creep
      12 Hello
      13 Brothers In Arms

    Products you might be interested in