Welcome! Log in or Register

Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace - Offspring

  • image
£4.35 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Modern Punk / Artist: Offspring / Explicit Lyrics / Audio CD released 2008-06-16 at Columbia

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      10.06.2010 21:20
      Very helpful



      Poor eight album from the Offspring.

      Rise and fall, Rage and Grace is the eight album by punk rock band The Offspring. It was released in 2008 and is the bands first album since 2003's Splinter.

      Being a big Offspring fan back in the day I was quite excited about this new album. However upon listening to it I was quite disappointed on first listen. It started to grow on me after a few listen but I still think this isn't a great album. First of all the Offspring seem to have copied a lot of other bands with their songs. "A Lot Like Me" sounds exactly like something off Linkin Park's debut album while "Fix You" is lyrically very close to Coldplay's song of the same name, also sharing its slow instrumentation. However the worst example of this is peniultimate song "Rise and Fall" which is a complete rip-off of Green Day's "American Idiot", the two songs sound near identical. It's a good song but a bit pointless as it sounds like a cheap cover of the Green Day version. All of this sounds like a band running out of ideas.

      Well the other songs on the album further confirm my suspicions - most of the tracks sound uninspired. The first two tracks are "Half - Truism" and "Trust In You". Both while quite catchy, aren't very memorable. The third song is "You're Gonna Go Far Kid", which is easily the best song on the album. It might be a bit dancey for punk fans, but has a great driving chorus that's great for pumping you up. A brilliant energetic track. Another single is "Hammerhead", which is less good than the previous song. It is a nice fast punk song, but nothing more nothing less. "Take Me Nowhere" is perhaps one of the better songs on the album. Its quite catchy and a nice little guitar riff playing throughout. "Kristy Are You Doing Okay?" is a nice little acoustic song, makes a nice contrast to the heavy songs while listening through he album. A decent pop-rock track. "Nothingtown" and "Stuff is Messed Up" are decent if under whelming songs that lack that punch that the older Offspring material had. It's the same story for "Lets Hear it for Rock Bottom".

      Overall I found this album quite disappointing. After a five-year wait for a new album fans could be forgiven for being disappointed by this album. There are a few nice little catchy songs on the album, but on a whole it lacks originality.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Half-Truism
    2 Trust In You
    3 You're Gonna Go Far, Kid
    4 Hammerhead
    5 A Lot Like Me
    6 Takes Me Nowhere
    7 Kristy, Are You Doing Okay?
    8 Nothingtown
    9 Stuff Is Messed Up
    10 Fix You
    11 Let's Hear It For Rock Bottom
    12 Rise And Fall

Products you might be interested in