Welcome! Log in or Register

Rockin' Across Texas - Elvis Presley

  • image
£30.24 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Rock - Classic Rock / Artist: Elvis Presley / Audio CD released 2005-03-07 at Follow That Dream

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.12.2009 18:37
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A must have collectors set.

      I have many, many Elvis albums and other items as I am a huge fan of the man and his work, I have spent a small fortune over the years and some of it was spent on albums I rarely listen to and some of it was spent on albums and books I never tire of.

      A huge £82 pound of my total spend on Elvis items went on this book/CD set which is one of the ones I never tire of. This set documents Elvis`s tour across Texas and as well as the great stories from his band members and the awesome photos many of which are very rare, the 2 CD`s are crammed with great Elvis music.

      There are tracks such as "Polk salad Annie", "If you love me", "you gave me a mountain" and the evergreen "Jailhouse rock", as well as many, many more and as this is a FTD (specialist label) album, it also has a few outtakes and some alternate versions of some classic tracks so it is a good listen for fans and non fans alike.

      The book is probably of most interest to fans but it is a very good read and will probably be enjoyed by most people, especially people with an interest in music of this time.

      I would suggest that this is a must have for true fans and although non fans would probably not spend just short of £90 on this, they might enjoy it more than they think!


      Login or register to add comments
      • More +
        15.11.2008 18:07



        Elvis is rockin'

        ROCKIN' ACROSS TEXAS is another of the expensive hardback book/CD combinations published by the specialist Elvis Presley record label FTD.

        This one would set you back over £50 if you bought it from Amazon UK but is worth every penny of that. The book documents Elvis' Texas tours in the 1950s and 1970s, with some rare photographs and previously untold stories about these performances. The level of detail in the book is amazing and there is definitely new material here for even the most fervent Elvis fan to find.

        This time there are 2 CDs which come with the book, the first one featuring a stonkingly good performance from 1974 (in Amarillo) where Elvis sang such songs as POLK SALAD ANNIE and WHY MR LORD, the second featuring an equally excellent performance from 1976 (in Fort Worth), with songs including IF YOU LOVE ME, YOU GAVE ME A MOUNTAIN, and one of my all-time favourites JAILHOUSE ROCK. These performances show Elvis in really good humour, which wasn't always true of his performances from this period, and so makes these a particularly enjoyable listen.

        Although not cheap this set is excellent value and is well recommended to any of Elvis' many fans.


        Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 See See Rider
      2 I Got A Woman /Amen
      3 Love Me
      4 Trying To Get To You
      5 All Shook Up
      6 Love Me Tender
      7 Hound Dog
      8 Fever
      9 Polk Salad Annie
      10 Why Me Lord
      11 Suspicious Minds
      12 Introductions
      13 I Can?t Stop Loving You
      14 Help Me
      15 An American Trilogy
      16 Let Me Be There
      17 Heartbreak Hotel
      18 Funny How Time Slips Away
      19 Big Boss Man
      20 Can?t Help Falling In Love
      21 Interview In Odessa, Texas.

      Disc #2 Tracklisting
      1 See See Rider
      2 I Got A Woman /Amen
      3 Love Me
      4 If You Love Me
      5 You Gave Me A Mountain
      6 All Shook Up
      7 (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear
      8 Don?t Be Cruel
      9 And I Love You So
      10 Jailhouse Rock
      11 Fever
      12 America
      13 Polk Salad Annie
      14 Introductions: Early Morning Rain, What?d I Say, Johnny B. Goode
      15 Introductions: Love Letters, School Days
      16 Hurt
      17 Hound Dog
      18 Funny How Time Slips Away
      19 Can?t Help Falling In Love
      20 Closing Vamp

    Products you might be interested in