Welcome! Log in or Register

Rude Awakening: Live - Megadeth

  • image
£5.97 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Heavy Metal / Artist: Megadeth / Live / Audio CD released 2002-03-18 at Metal-Is

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      02.02.2012 14:16
      Very helpful



      A good live album but not the best.

      "Rude Awakening" is a live album by American thrash metal band, Megadeth. It was released in 2002 on Sanctuary Records and produced by Dave Mustaine with Bill Kennedy & Arthur Gorson, and recorded over two nights in Arizona, 2001. The line-up was Dave Mustaine (vocals/guitar), Al Pitrelli (guitar), David Ellefson (bass) and Jimmy DeGrasso (drums).

      First off, 24 Megadeth songs spread across two CDs has the makings for something special, right? Of course it does, it is one of the best thrash bands in the world, after all. Another line-up change sees Al Pitrelli replacing the iconic Marty Friedman on guitar in 2000, but left in 2002 shortly after the release of this live offering when Megadeth went into hiatus while Mustaine recovered from a serious arm injury. Also present is drummer Jimmy DeGrasso who joined the band in 1998.

      What you get a sense of on this album is how 'at home' DeGrasso is on the drums. You get the feeling that he's been with the band since the beginning and is more than capable of changing it up a little; throwing in an extra drum roll here and there or changing the tempo of a song.

      All the Megadeth classics are on here, "Wake Up Dead", "Peace Sells", "Holy Wars" and others, as well as a few surprise inclusions, namely "Almost Honest", "Dread and the Fugitive Mind" and "1000 Times Goodbye".

      The performance is, as you'd expect, technical and tight. Mustaine wows the audience and listener with his insane ability to conjure up a solo from nowhere, Pitrelli backing him all the way with ease. Highlights of the album are the sing-along "Trust", the angry "Mechanix", which was written by Mustaine while he was in Metallica, and a lightning rendition of "Hook in Mouth".

      In summary, while this isn't the best live Megadeth album (though it's not easy to state which is), it's still enjoyable to listen to. Mustaine and Ellefson are helped along for the cause by Pitrelli and DeGrasso in an enjoyable 24 songs. Buy it by all means, but for that special Megadeth sound, you'd probably want to plumb for "That One Night: Live in Buenos Aires" instead.

      Disc One

      1. Dread and the Fugitive Mind
      2. Kill the King
      3. Wake Up Dead
      4. In My Darkest Hour
      5. Angry Again
      6. She-Wolf
      7. Reckoning Day
      8. Devil's Island
      9. Train of Consequences
      10. À Tout le Monde
      11. Burning Bridges
      12. Hangar 18
      13. Return to Hangar
      14. Hook in Mouth

      Disc Two

      1. Almost Honest
      2. 1000 Times Goodbye
      3. Mechanix
      4. Tornado of Souls
      5. Ashes in Your Mouth
      6. Sweating Bullets
      7. Trust
      8. Symphony of Destruction
      9. Peace Sells
      10. Holy Wars

      My rating: 7/10


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Dread And The Fugitive Mind
    2 Kill The King
    3 Wake Up Dead
    4 In My Darkest Hour
    5 Angry Again
    6 She Wolf
    7 Reckoning Day
    8 Devil's Island
    9 Train Of Consequences
    10 A Tout Le Monde
    11 Burning Bridges
    12 Hangar 18
    13 Return To Hangar
    14 Hook In Mouth
    15 Almost Honest
    16 1000 Times Goodbye
    17 Mechanix
    18 Tornado Of Souls
    19 Ashes In Your Mouth
    20 Sweating Bullets
    21 Trust
    22 Symphony Of Destruction
    23 Peace Sells
    24 Holy Wars

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 Almost Honest
    2 1000 Times Goodbye
    3 Mechanix
    4 Tornado Of Souls
    5 Ashes In Your Mouth
    6 Sweating Blues
    7 Trust
    8 Symphony Of Destruction
    9 Peace Sells But Who's Buying
    10 Holy Wars

Products you might be interested in