Welcome! Log in or Register

Rules - Whitest Boy Alive

  • image
£5.99 Best Offer by: http://www.oxfam.org.uk/shop/oxfam-unwrapped See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Dance & Electronic - Lounge / Artist: Whitest Boy Alive / Audio CD released 2009-03-30 at Bubbles

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.05.2009 14:51
      Very helpful



      Strong second Album performs to a Strong Oeuvre

      Just as solid an album as their previous one, Dreams....So here we are blessed with more light, economical, classy minimalist guitar with life-advising lyrics, with touches of light electronica that in no way injure the simple, zen atmosphere.

      The main musician here is Erlend Oye, unplugged guitarist with the duet Kings of Convenience, and still adding his mellow, wistful Norwegian-lilting voice and injured slant to catchy melodies.

      There aren't quite as many melodies here as the first album, but they've done a good job, and it's only a deft touch that doesn't overdo the bouncy effect, or emotional gravitas. When they come though, they come deftly and with piercing poignancy. The economy in the guitar notes is expertly handled at times.

      Not only a great acoustic musician, Oye has explored the electronic scene too, so it's thanks to him that this selection of quiet understated songs, with some terrific break-out crescendos and guitar emphasis, can also become great dance mixes. It's just a matter of time before 'The Island' for example, (another, final, wistful elegy to breaking up), becomes a huge success with DJs.

      A couple of weaker tracks, where the lyrics get a bit too teachy....but still part of the whole, and with strong sections.

      Overall, a fine mix of light rock with dance edges....to have you celebrating bands and guitars, and their ability to bounce and groove....


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Keep a Secret
      2 Intentions
      3 Courage
      4 Time Bomb
      5 Roller Coaster Ride
      6 High On The Heels
      7 1517
      8 Gravity
      9 Promise Less Or Do More
      10 Dead End
      11 Island

    Products you might be interested in