Welcome! Log in or Register

Save Yourself - Nora

  • image
£6.45 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Hardcore / Artist: Nora / Audio CD released 2007-07-30 at Spv

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      16.07.2008 21:09
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      If you like hardcore punk then NORA's 'Save Yourself' is an album well worth listening to.

      'Save Yourself' is the second studio album from the New Jersey hardcore punk band that is NORA. This is hardly the hardcore punk album of the century, it is however a fairly decent album of hugely hard hitting hardcore music; for most of this album nothing particularly special is offered by the band here, the music is very heavy however and always the vocals pack a powerful punch. The guitar work also is strong here, the riffs are incredibly heavy, and the music of NORA will most definitely have you fist pumping in the air.

      Ten tracks are present here, 36 minutes of music are offered up by the band and for the most part the exact same hardcore punk formula is followed. NORA is not the most innovative hardcore punk band in the world, the music is pretty impressive however and something a little different is most definitely provided with one of the tracks present here. 'The Moment, The Sound, The Fury' is a track which possesses a dirty, sludgy sound; this is something that works out well for the band and this I feel is the best track that this 'Save Yourself' album has to offer. The track certainly stands out as different on this album, the difference in sound provided here is strong and this track really makes you stop and listen hard. You get quite used to the bands standard hardcore punk sound here, it works well but after a while your mind does begin to drift a little; 'The Moment, The Sound, The Fury' is a track which helps bring you back and grabs your full undivided attention with its powerful style of sound.

      'The Moment, The Sound, The Fury' is the eighth track on the album, for the final two tracks the band really has you hooked and with both penultimate track 'Chances Aren't' and aptly titled closing anthem 'The Ending' also the bands sound really does erupt here providing of a fine final few tracks of music. For seven tracks the bands sound is merely average, it all comes alive with three tracks to go however and the bands best is left well and truly until last. 'Chances Aren't' is a little more melodic than the rest of this tracks present on this album, final track 'The Ending' does however provide one final moment of fury and leaves you well and truly wanting for more. The end of this album is its most impressive part; the whole thing has been leading to this point and with its climax the 'Save Yourself' album certainly does save itself.

      This is quite a strange album in that it only gets going properly in its final third; what a final third it is however and with the final 13 minutes of this album the music of NORA truly is absolutely exceptional. NORA is by no means a great band, from listening to the final three tracks of this album however you may well be fooled into thinking that this band is better than it actually is. Although not exactly excellent from start to finish; 'Save Yourself' is an album well worth listening to for its finale alone and with the final few tracks of this album NORA is a band that sounds far greater than it actually is. It's actually quite a shock when the final few tracks of this album begin to roll, the album is injected with new life through the sludgy sound of 'The Moment, The Sound, The Fury', is progressed phenomenally with the melodic grace of 'Chances Aren't', and then with the last track of the album the bands delivers its final blow with the hard hitting hardcore punch of 'The Ending'.

      'Save Yourself' is not a great hardcore punk release, the end is excellent but for the most part this is a really rather average album. Ten tracks are present here, most of which blend together and form as one; with the final few moments of this album the band does however bring the release to an excellent end making 'Save Yourself' a very memorable album indeed. This is not hardcore punk at its finest, it's certainly an interesting album to listen to however and with the final few tracks here the bands sound is always fantastic. For those that like their hardcore punk then NORA's 'Save Yourself' may well be an album that shall appeal; it's no classic of its genre but should certainly raise a smile or two. For crunching riffs, ferocious vocal shouts and some serious fist pumping action; NORA's 'Save Yourself' is an album which is well worth listening to.

      Label: Trustkill Records
      Release Date: July 30th 2007

      Originally posted by me on my website Alt-UK.com
      Source: http://www.alt-uk.com/modules.php?name=Reviews


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Somebody Call Somebody
      2 Scum
      3 Broken
      4 Save Yourself
      5 Famous Last Words
      6 Have You Ever Had a Really Bad Day?
      7 Just Like Johnny
      8 Moment, The Sound, The Fury
      9 Chances Aren't
      10 Ending

    Products you might be interested in