Welcome! Log in or Register

Shaking The Tree: Sixteen Golden Greats - Peter Gabriel

  • image
£4.94 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Classic Rock / Artist: Peter Gabriel / Original recording remastered / Audio CD released 2002-02-25 at Virgin

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      20.06.2015 23:46
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      A Great 'Best Of' Collection By Peter Gabriel

      This 1990 release is a great collection of Peter Gabriel's best known songs. It's a good CD to have in your collection if you are just a casual fan and want to have his best tracks all on one album. The CD has been superseded by the 2CD collection 'HIT' though, which contains a larger collection and more recent chart topping tracks.

      This CD features 16 songs from Gabriel's earliest days when he had just left Genesis to anything he recorded until 1990. It opens with the stomping 'Solsbury Hill', a song he wrote about his frustration when trying to cope as the lead singer of rock band Genesis. The song is a not too veiled message to his former band-mates about how bad it was towards the end before he split from the group.

      Other great tracks that just had to be in this collection include some of his biggest chart topping tracks 'Don't Give Up', the sublime, emotional duet with Kate Bush as well as the rousing pop rock song 'Sledgehammer', a fun and high energy track. Another loud pop song 'Big Time' is also included in the collection.

      There are a couple of classics on the album with the anthemic 'Biko' and the popular but curious hit 'Games Without Frontiers'.

      A few more surprising songs on the album include 'Zaar', an instrumental piece which is more in line with Gabriel's more recent work. The atmospheric track 'San Jacinto' also makes an appearance. It's an epic, spiritual track which is incredibly moving.

      There are a lot of fast paced, darker rock-pop tracks including 'Red Rain', 'I Don't Remember' and 'Shock The Monkey'. I would say the album overall has more of a lively style with the slower, softer tracks interspersed here and there. One of the more beautiful quieter tracks is 'Mercy Street', a delicate, hypnotic track that is quite long but which is like a long, sweet dream.

      I would definitely recommend this album as it's a wonderful collection of some of Gabriel's best tracks from his most productive era.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Solsbury Hill
      2 I Don't Remember
      3 Sledgehammer
      4 Family Snapshot
      5 Mercy Street
      6 Shaking The Tree
      7 Don't Give Up
      8 San Jacinto
      9 Here Comes The Flood
      10 Red Rain
      11 Games Without Frontiers
      12 Shock The Monkey
      13 I Have The Touch
      14 Big Time
      15 Zaar
      16 Biko

    Products you might be interested in