Welcome! Log in or Register

#1s - Destiny's Child

  • image
£7.49 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop - Dance Pop / Artist: Destiny's Child / Audio CD released 2005-10-24 at SonyBmg

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.02.2010 20:06
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      If you like RnB pop, it's ideal

      Destiny's Child released their greatest hits album, #1's, in 2005 after splitting up earlier that year. Their career spanned over a decade (not all with the same lineup), and they released four studio albums, a Christmas album and a remix album before this.

      Their greatest hits album ('Number Ones' is a somewhat misleading title, as not all of their singles made it to the top spot) kicks off with Stand Up For Love, the 2005 World Children's Day Anthem. This was the last single released by the group and therefore it makes sense to include it on the album, however in my opinion it's not that great and makes a less than ideal opening track. It isn't an accurate reflection of the album as a whole, though it does show off the girls' vocals, especially Beyonce's.

      The second track, Independent Women Part 1, would have made a much better opening song in my opinion. It's a great anthem, positive and powerful. I do have a bit of a problem with this, in that it implies that having money is the mark of a successful woman. It's a very capitalist attitude, and I always find myself wondering about the women who look after children or relatives, or the ones who volunteer - don't they count?! To be honest though I think I am overanalysing what is really just a pop song!

      The next few tracks are really a disco-fest, with Survivor, Soldier, Check On It, Jumpin' Jumpin and Lose My Breath (a personal favourite). I love to listen to this part of the album before I'm going out. Hearing all the songs together really shows just how many good tracks Destiny's Child produced. Things slow down a bit with Say My Name, Emotion and Bug A Boo - these three songs, especially the last one, remind me a bit of TLC but that is no bad thing, as those girls were pretty cool too.

      Bootylicious is another great RnB/pop classic and would have sounded better in the previous section next to Jumpin' Jumpin' and the other more 'clubby' songs. Bills, Bills, Bills, Girl and No, No, No reduce the tempo a bit more.

      Cater 2 U, the penultimate song, is just dreadful. After all the previous positive, feminist tracks this one sounds so out of place. It actually makes me cringe. When DC sing about fetching their bloke's slippers and dinner and how they are here to 'serve' him I almost want to puke!

      The final track, Feel the Same Way I Do, is an odd choice as it's not memorable in the slightest, and in fact is rather nondescript.

      Overall, this is a really great album with all Destiny's Child's hits. Thirteen good songs out of an album of sixteen is pretty good going. The ordering of the songs is rather odd - surely it's better to open and close an album with something memorable, but in fact the worst tracks on the album bookend all the decent ones. On the other hand, it does mean that you can skip track 1 and play the rest without having to worry about skipping boring songs in the middle of the album - just stop it after number 14!


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Stand Up For Love (2005 World Children?s Day Anthem) (New Song)
      2 Independent Women Part I
      3 Survivor
      4 Soldier (Feat. T.I. and Lil Wayne)
      5 Check On It (Feat. Slim Thug) (New Song)
      6 Jumpin?, Jumpin?
      7 Lose My Breath
      8 Say My Name
      9 Emotion
      10 Bug A Boo
      11 Bootylicious
      12 Bills, Bills, Bill
      13 Girl
      14 No, No, No Part 2 (Feat. Wyclef Jean)
      15 Cater 2 U
      16 Feel The Same Way I Do (New Song)

    Products you might be interested in