Welcome! Log in or Register

Shooting At The Moon - Kevin Ayers

  • image
£5.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Progressive Rock / Artist: Kevin Ayers / Audio CD released 2003-06-02 at Harvest

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      03.02.2008 22:17
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Kevin Ayers and the Whole World (1970).

      'Shooting at the Moon' was Kevin Ayers' second "solo" album, and the most coherent in terms of utilising an actual band (if not coherent in any other terms whatsoever). Ayers' improvised-sounding singing makes the softer songs reminiscent of early psychedelia from the likes of Arthur Brown, particularly his screaming performance in 'Lunatics Lament' which was by far my most enjoyed song here, while his guitar and bass are very nicely supplemented by the talents of David Bedford's keyboards, Lol Coxhill's sax and Mike Oldfield on lead guitar, being granted a very cool solo in the same song that lasts for longer than you would imagine. Try to imagine how long. No, it is slightly longer than that. Yes, that's about right, long isn't it?

      Sounding deceptively mainstream at first, this all too soon descends into fairly impenetrable prog in the jazzy, jamming style of King Crimson, though the instrumentals in question - 'Pisser Dans un Violon' and 'Underwater' - are duller, longer and even less interesting than that other band at its most pretentious, the soundscape mainly being one of squeaky nothingness. The shorter songs are much easier to swallow, particularly the mellow opening track and the folky duet 'The Oyster and the Flying Fish' with a female singer, but most of the other songs tend to feature contrived elements of strangeness that mostly work really well, whether it's a sax solo atop acoustic guitar in 'Clarence in Wonderland' and 'Red Green and You Blue,' or the psychedelia of tracks two and three. Although it's far from being a prog classic, there's enough here to satisfy old-school fans, and it stands as Ayers' most satisfyingly strange accomplishment.

      1. May I?
      2. Rheinhardt & Geraldine / Colores Para Delores
      3. Lunatics Lament
      4. Pisser Dans un Violon
      5. The Oyster and the Flying Fish
      6. Underwater
      7. Clarence in Wonderland
      8. Red Green and You Blue
      9. Shooting at the Moon


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 May I
      2 Rheinhardt And Geraldine
      3 Colores Para Delores
      4 Lunatic Lament
      5 Pisser Dans Un Violon
      6 Oyster And The Flying Fish
      7 Underwater
      8 Clarence In Wonderland
      9 Red Green And You Blue
      10 Shooting At The Moon
      11 Gemini Child
      12 Puis Je
      13 Butterfly Dance
      14 Jolie Madame
      15 Hat

    Products you might be interested in