Welcome! Log in or Register

Shy Boy: The Complete Recordings 1967-1969 - Kippington Lodge

  • image
£101.40 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Artist: Kippington Lodge / Audio CD released 2011-07-25 at Rpm

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      21.12.2011 18:30
      Very helpful



      A 60s gem

      Kippington Lodge might not roll off the tongue with the same ease as Oasis but the hairstyles are at least slightly similar! Kippington Lodge has a similar line up to Brinsley Schwarz but play a rather different type of music, the band took the name in 1967 having been playing under numerous other names since around 1964, the core of the band consists of school friends Brinsley Schwarz and Nick Lowe.

      The band could be described as slightly psychedelic but they are a lot softer sounding than the majority of their contemporaries, Kippington Lodge aren't as rocky as The Kinks or The Who, in fact most of their songs are very gentle and child like, more like early Pink Floyd. Think of a less sinister Eleanor Rigby and you have the kind of sound the band go for. Unlike The Beatles' "Yellow Submarine" these songs are well written and far from moronic.

      The majority of these tracks can be found on an album by Brinsley Schwarz called Hen's Teeth, it was until recently the only place you could find them but that album is a little rare and quite dear, so "Kippington Lodge: The Complete Recordings - 1967-1969" is pretty good value and a worthwhile buy for fans of 60s music, they may not have been particularly famous at the time and they may sound incredibly soft in today's world of thuggish tunes but I struggle to imagine any music fan not managing to find some time for awesome tracks like "Shy Boy" or "Lady on a Bicycle", personally I preferred this album to the later stuff by Brinsley Schwarz!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Shy Boy
    2 Lady On A Bicycle
    3 Rumors
    4 And She Cried
    5 Tell Me A Story
    6 Understand A Woman
    7 Tomorrow Today
    8 Turn Out The Light
    9 In My Life
    10 I Can See Her Face
    11 Land Of Sea
    12 Rumors
    13 And She Cried
    14 Shy Boy
    15 Younger Girl

Products you might be interested in