Welcome! Log in or Register

Sky At Night - I Am Kloot

  • image
£16.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: I Am Kloot / Audio CD released 2010-07-05 at Shepherd Moon/EMI

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      31.08.2010 19:13
      Very helpful



      The fifth album from I am Kloot

      **Who are I am Kloot?**
      I am Kloot is a 3 man band from Manchest, UK. Made up of John Bramwell, Peter Jobson and Andy Hargreaves. Active since 1999 they have an indie or alternative rock feel to them. Sky at Night is their fifth album, but they remain relatively unknown within popular music although they do have a rather devoted fanbase.

      **What is on this new album?**
      This album contains ten songs nine of which are brand new and one "Proof" which is from their 2003 album so I'm not sure why this has been added in!

      The album starts off with the almost upbeat Northern Skies, Bramwell's voice singing about loneliness with his lovely voice full of feeling. This is a really nice song and has a positive feeling to it. The instumentals in this song are really well placed and Jobson, as usual plays the guitar flawlessly.

      After this first song, the rest are rather more harrowing with a sad, lonely tone running through them. The second song To The Brink, has Bramwell singing almost with the sound of desperation in his voice. I really feel like he is telling a story though these songs. More than just singing them for the sake of it.

      My least favourite song on this album is Lately. This song just seems, for want of a better word, messy. Not as tuneful as the rest of them and Bramwell's lyrics and vocas in this just aren't up to his usual standards. Maybe I am just missing the point with this one.

      I Still Do and Blind Side of the Moon, are fine examples of Bramwells fantastic lyrical genius. These songs have a gentle almost folky sound to them. Truely beautiful and gentle songs.

      Then we come to Proof the seventh song of the album. This is a good song, I just don't understand why they felt the need to put it on this album as well as their previous one.

      It's Just the Night uses some lovely piano throughout it which I feel really compliments Bramwells voice. Another sad sounding song here though.

      The last two songs on the album are Radiation and Same Shoes are great songs I can't fault them. Again a nice mixture of vocals and instrumentals with seamless lyrics, and a nice jazzy feel to them.

      **So should I buy it?**
      You should definitely give I am Kloot a go, this is probably my favourite album of theirs however it has been under some criticism for not being up to Bramwell's usual standards. So I would definitely recommend this album. You can get it from Amazon for around £10 which is a bit ore expensive than some albums but it is brand new and I think it is worth it.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Northern Skies
    2 To The Brink
    3 Fingerprints
    4 Lately
    5 I Still Do
    6 The Moon Is A Blind Eye
    7 Proof
    8 It's Just The Night
    9 9 Radiation
    10 Same Shoes

Products you might be interested in