Welcome! Log in or Register

Solo Acoustic Vol 1 - Jackson Browne

  • image
£23.94 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock - Pop Rock / Artist: Jackson Browne / Audio CD released 2005-10-31 at Angel

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.08.2008 16:50
      Very helpful



      A wonderful album, full of songs you'll want to listen to again and again.

      As an introduction to Jackson Browne's music, this CD showcases his talent. His ability to put across emotions through singing is wonderful. This CD doesn't have all the "Greatest Hits" but does have many songs which deserve to have a fresh listen and approach after some over production on studio albums, Browne plays either guitar or piano on all songs and hearing the songs in such a raw form gives the audience an opportunity to appreciate their lyrics far more.

      The introductions to the songs provide a little insight into both the music and singer, including humorous asides to getting old and not being able to remember all the songs words. As well as people asking for other bands songs (mostly the Eagles) which he deals with as only a friend of theirs could.

      We also get the first recorded version of a song, The Birds of St Mark's, dating back to the 1970's which Browne played in concerts which had never found its way onto a studio album (for some unknown reason as it's a beautiful song).

      The passion and melancholy of Browne's aged voice heard in These Days and Fountain of Sorrow make them all the more endearing as now they have the experience behind the voice to sing the lyrics.

      During the next songs you can simply lose yourself in Browne's voice as he takes you through sadness and loss in For A Dancer and the poetic Too Many Angels.

      Live in the Balance and Looking East both benefit greatly from the simple telling they receive here and both are songs which perhaps resonate more now than when they were originally released in 1986 and 1996 respectively.

      The final two songs on this album are The Pretender which is astounding in its simplicity and beauty and Take It Easy which whilst known mostly as an Eagles song was primarily written by Jackson Browne and is a great crowd pleasing song.

      Overall a CD which any Jackson Browne fan will enjoy and will also introduce a variety of still relevant songs to a new listener.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Barricades Of Heaven
    2 Intro These Days
    3 These Days
    4 Intro Birds Of St. Marks
    5 Birds Of St. Marks
    6 Intro Fountains Of Sorrow
    7 Fountains Of Sorrow
    8 Bright Baby Blues
    9 For A Dancer
    10 Too Many Angels
    11 Intro For Everyman
    12 For Everyman
    13 Intro Lives In The Balance
    14 Lives In The Balance
    15 Intro Looking East
    16 Looking East
    17 Intro The Pretender
    18 The Pretender
    19 Intro Take It Easy
    20 Take It Easy

Products you might be interested in