Welcome! Log in or Register

Sos - The S.O.S. Band

  • image
£16.85 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Pop R&B / Artist: The S.O.S. Band / Original recording remastered / Audio CD released 2003-06-09 at Tabu

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.03.2010 09:00
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      The S.O.S. Band's debut album

      The S.O.S. Band, a Funk and R&B group from out of Atlanta, Georgia, released "S.O.S." as their debut album in 1980. Headed by Mary Davis, they made an impact through the decade with their fly material, and are most noted for their 1983 hit "Just Be Good To Me" as they come with a pretty typical mix of Soul and Funk; the sort of thing that was highly-popular at the time.

      1. "S.O.S."

      They kick the album off with something heavy as their hit us with a fresh one that's really designed to get you excited for their material and what they could potentially drop over the course of this album. Perhaps bringing a little too much Disco for some people's tastes, I thought that this was a little something that anyone who was into the R&B of the early eighties would be mad to miss out on.

      **Five Stars**

      2. "What's Wrong With Our Love Affair?"

      Opting for a complete change to things, they abruptly switch the direction of the music massively here as they come up with a tune that has them really wanting to show how well they are able to deliver ballads. I have to say that I'm not really down with this kind of thing at all, but I can see why it would have been liked at the time. It sounds a little plain to me and massively-outdated, but would have been bang on trend at the time.

      **Three Stars**

      3. "Open Letter"

      Here they come to throw out a tune that has them offering an intermediate between the sort of things that were heard on the last two tracks as we see that the pace remains low, however it isn't as straight-forward as this as the way that the band accompany the vocals have them inputting a little more exciting elements to make it more manageable to those who aren't into traditional ballads.

      **Three Stars**

      4. "Love Won't Wait For Love"

      They are seen to really pick things up for this one as they choose to drop another heavy Funk tune to remind you where we were at the top of the album when they initially established what they were about and what they wanted to offer to the listeners on the album. It's a big one from them and the sort of dance tune that you really expect to get out of any act working in R&B of this sort of time.

      **Four Stars**

      5. "Take Your Time"

      Rich in bass, we see that on this one they throw down another heavy tune that you're bound to enjoy if you were into the sounds of Disco-Funk in its peak years. This was one of the hits off the album and so you're bound to see just how much it stands out here and how it seems to change the feel of the record with such familiar music. There's lot to like about it and it livens you up even further here.

      **Five Stars**

      6. "I'm In Love"

      We find that here they decide to take it right back towards the slower music here and I felt as though here was the first time on the record where I was really able to feel this kind of thing in the way that I'm sure listeners at the time (when the album originally dropped) will have. It makes a lot of noise and acts as a nice ballad where they ensure that their full potential is shown as it should be.

      **Four Stars**

      7. "Take Love Where You Find It"

      Here, on what is the final proper track on the album, we see that we get a straight killer joint and one that forces you to get into an energetic mood again as they attack this one hard and ensure that they are really able to keep their listeners satisfied and as if they've been given all they would have expected to get from an album of its sort. It completes the thing and draws it to a relevant close.

      **Five Stars**

      8. "S.O.S." (Reprise)

      Although a couple of the tunes on this short album weren't for me, generally this is a very strong album from the act and one that has them going in hard with every style that they choose to bring. Each track has a little something new in it and ensures that you aren't completely put off by its short overall duration.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 SOS (Dit Dit Dit Dash Dash Dash Dit Dit Dit)
      2 What's Wrong With Our Love Affair
      3 Open Letter
      4 Love Won't Wait For Love
      5 Take Your Time (Do It Right)
      6 I'm In Love
      7 Take Love Where You Find It
      8 SOS

    Products you might be interested in