Welcome! Log in or Register

Sound Of Silver - LCD Soundsystem

  • image
£2.78 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: LCD Soundsystem / Audio CD released 2007-03-12 at EMI

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      14.09.2009 21:38
      Very helpful



      Utterly brilliant

      Being the massive Daft Punk fan i am, i first stumbled across LCD Soundsystem on a Daft Punk music search long ago. Up popped their breakthrough track 'Daft Punk is Playing at my House'. I loved it, i went searching and found their first album which got played to death.
      When i heard he was producing a second album, 'Sound of Silver' i was really excited.

      Its not often i hold out for listening to singles until i get the album to hear it all together, but this was one of those times. The first listen of 'Sound of Silver' gave me wave of goosebumps after wave of goosebumps. James Murphy has created an absolutely stunning album.

      I have long since said James Murphy is a musical genius, but i think this album proves it. In the studio he plays all the instruments himself, he writes himself, he sings himself. He is incredibly talented.

      It opens with the beats of 'Get Innocuous' which most people will probably have heard for the first time in the advertisements for Rockstar Games 'Grand Theft Auto IV'. Perfect opener for the album and very much sets the tone. 9/10.
      It then moves into 'Time to get away' and 'North American Scum' both tracks are classic LCD Soundsystem, with 'Scum'being a particular favourite.
      8 and 9 out of 10 respectively.
      Next up is 'Someone Great' a fantastic slower track. 8/10

      Then its 'All My Friends'. I cant rave about this track enough. I played it to death, and still do. It was my track of the year when it came out, and my favourite track, both on the album and out of LCD Soundsystems back catalogue. A piano based track that builds and builds into something spectacular. Its beautiful, thoughtful and in my opinion one of the greatest records ever. Is it possible to give 11/10?

      'Us vs Them' is next. Followed by 'Watch the Tapes' and the title track 'Sound of Silver'. All fantastic tracks in their own right, but along with the rest of the album, they just elevate it to another level. 8, 8 and 9/10.

      Finally its 'New York, I love you but youre bringing me down' a really nice slow track which is a definite love story... about the City of New York! 8/10.

      I know with a review im supposed to post any negative points, but im honestly struggng to think of any!

      The whole album flows really well and has stunning production values. I dont think James Murphy would allow anything less!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Get Innocuous!
    2 Time To Get Away
    3 North American Scum
    4 Someone Great
    5 All My Friends
    6 Us V Them
    7 Watch The Tapes
    8 Sound Of Silver
    9 New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down

Products you might be interested in