Welcome! Log in or Register

Sound System Champions - Mungo's Hi-Fi

  • image
£10.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Reggae / Artist: Mungo's Hi-Fi / Audio CD released 2008-09-08 at Rockers Revolt

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      15.10.2008 11:11
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Top reggae record

      The chilly drunk streets of Glasgow may seem distant from the roots of reggae but this album: Sound System Champions by Mungo's Hi-Fi is one of the best reggae releases I've come across this year, it's like a history of the music in that it covers everything from reggae, ska, dancehall, rub a dub and even a bit of jazzy hip hop thrown in, it features big name after big name and starts off in an intriguing way with the smokey jazz bar voice of Parisian Marina P before moving on to Kenny Knots and Don't Let Them Break Your Heart.. this is the very essence of old school roots reggae but it doesn't hang around for long as it moves on until you get to an upbeat frenzie of "Ruff mi Tuff" by London artist Tippa Irie, at first I thought what a quality track to dance to but after listening to it a few times, it's the one track which really wears on me.

      Mungo's Hi-Fi are doing well for themselves, constantly touring the UK - they also have slots at big name reggae festivals in Poland and Switzerland later in the year. The album is available on pre-release at the moment and I think it's going to be a big hit and since I asked for it to be added as a suggestion, it's already become Radio 1 Scotland's Album of the Month. The album will be properly launched at the end of November


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Divorce A L'Italienne ft.Marina P
      2 Don't Let Them Break Your Heart ft.Kenny Knots
      3 Herbalist ft.Top Cat
      4 How You Bad So? ft.Ranking Joe
      5 Under Arrest ft.MC Ishu
      6 Old Time Dance ft.Mikey Murka
      7 Ruff Mi Tuff ft.Tippa Irie
      8 Rasta Meditation ft.Kenny Knots
      9 Rooster ft. Aya Faith
      10 Songs of Zion ft.Ras Charmer
      11 Around The World ft.Suncycle
      12 Did Your Really Know ft.Soom T

    Products you might be interested in