Welcome! Log in or Register

Split The Difference - Gomez

  • image
£3.75 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review
  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.04.2009 14:08
      Very helpful



      I totally dig this album.

      This fourth album from Gomez, is characterized as a going back to basics phase for the band. There is something distinctly rock n'roll about this album, with much less of experimentalism that defined some of their other albums.

      The songs are crammed with brilliant melodies, catchy choruses, and their trademark vocal harmonies.

      Although Gomez are a guitar band (three guitar players) they aren't much like a conventionaly jam band, despite having fans from that genre. It isn't riddled with guitar solos, which I am pleased about.

      This album basically covers every kind of roots rock/rock & roll idiom with a great effortlessness, lovers of the genre will appreciate that about the album. The first two singles, "Catch Me Up" and "Silence" are catchy rockers, while "Sweet Virginia" (not the Stones' song) and "There It Was" should satisfy those who enjoy ballads like "Tijuana Lady".

      There is actually not one song on this album that I dislike. But then I have only listened to it for about a week, maybe ask me again in a month. In my opinion, this album truly rivals their amazing debut Bring It On.

      1) Do One
      2) These 3 Sins
      3) Silence
      4) Me, You and Everybody
      5) We Dont Know Where We're Going
      6) Sweet Virginia
      7) Catch Me Up
      8) Where Ya Going?
      9) Meet Me In The City
      10) Chicken Out
      11) Extra Special Guy
      12) Nothing Is Wrong
      13) There It Was


      Login or register to add comments

Products you might be interested in