Welcome! Log in or Register

Staring Down The Barrel - Blockheads

  • image
£5.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Punk / Artist: Blockheads / Audio CD released 2009-04-06 at EMI

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      23.05.2011 21:10
      Very helpful



      Not quite as good as hailed by critics

      The Blockheads were Ian Dury's long-standing band and when the vocalist passed away, few people knew they had continued playing but they did and to the small groups of fans they played to they had a reputation as a great live band. The band still consists of three of the original members but Dylan Howe has been drafted in to replace the original drummer who passed away and Ian Dury's carer Derek "The Draw" Hussey replaced the frontman. This is 2009 album that was released by that line-up.

      "The Draw"'s voice is surprisingly similar, as is his songwriting. Musically the band are still very tight, a little more jazzy than in the past perhaps but there's not an awful lot of difference.

      This is an album that grows on you but fans of the band's Ian Dury era stuff will definitely notice the lack of saucy lyrics, the lyrics are still clever but perhaps not as funny, it seems like the band have "grown up" and on certain songs they do seem a bit like elderly gents writing in to the newspaper to hark on about the old days and bring up topics such as tax.

      The most enjoyable song on the album is without a doubt "A Little Knowledge", that has a nice cheerful ska, klezmer type sound to it, the lyrics are great, every line is a piece of art and the chorus is great fun too, there does seem to be a duck call strangely making its way on to the track but this eccentricity just helps give the song its own unique character. I'd definitely have it down as one of the band's best ever tracks.

      A good album that's worth checking out, a few of the lyrics are definitely written from an older bloke's point of view but there is definitely still life in the old dogs yet.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Roll Over
    2 Greed
    3 A Little Knowledge
    4 George The Human Pigeon
    5 No Go Central
    6 Prophet Of Doom
    7 Hold Tight
    8 Life In Your Hands
    9 Dirty Money
    10 Elegant Style

Products you might be interested in