Welcome! Log in or Register

Strange Pray Tell - Dead Moon

  • image
£17.23 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: Dead Moon / CD / Audio CD released 2005-01-24 at Music Maniac

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      13.05.2011 16:51
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      Alternative music from Oregon

      Being born in 1986, I first became properly aware of music just as the Brit Pop bands got going in the early 90s and for a long time as far as I was concerned that was the music of the 90s.

      Over the last couple of years I recently became aware of a whole range of underground US acts during the same time period that are much more varied and some might say more talented than a lot of those bands too.

      Dead Moon hail from Oregon and they play a mixture of garage rock with a punky and country edge, their songs are usually dark and the singer Fred Cole sounds a bit dramatic, by the early 90s - Fred was a stalwart of the music scene having played in several bands since the early 60s having limited success with The Weeds.

      Strange Pray Tell is the band's 7th album, Fred's wife Toody is on bass and Andrew Loomis is on drums, the best track of the album to my ears is "My Escape" which is pretty catchy both lyrically and musically. The music will certainly not to be to everyone's taste, as is quite often the case in music involving Fred Cole, he's a good lyricist and the music the band play is enjoyable but I find his vocals a bit too high pitched, he often seems to be singing himself in to a hysteria, this is the case on the 2nd track "Until it Rains" and it does tend to set a precedent for the rest of the album.

      Unfortunately a lot of this high pitch vocal stuff tends to compliment some of the best punky riffs on the album as is the case on "Demona"

      Toody is an awesome bassist and a lot of the album is held together by her great bass riffs, she also sings on "13 Going on 21", unfortunately she only fares slightly better than her hubby, the rawness of the vocals just seems to lack tune at times.

      The album is a bit different and it's good but I can't say it's something I'd play more than once or twice with the exception of "My Escape" but it's definitely a matter of taste.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Fire In The Western World
      2 Until It Rains
      3 Can't Do That
      4 13 Going On 21
      5 Love Comes Once
      6 Room 213
      7 Going South
      8 Ill Of The Dead
      9 Play With Fire
      10 Don't Look Back
      11 Out In The Blue
      12 Destination X
      13 My Escape
      14 Demona
      15 I Hate The Blues

    Products you might be interested in