Welcome! Log in or Register

Symphony Masses - Therion

  • image
£14.49 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death & Black Metal / Artist: Therion / CD / Audio CD released 2002-01-21 at No Idea

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      15.01.2011 14:52
      Very helpful



      Superb metal album

      Therion's 3rd album "Symphony Masses: Ho Drakon Ho Megas" is probably the band's most interesting and adventurous of albums, different to the band's first two albums which were predominantly death metal and heavier than their later more melodic albums, it's an acquired taste but definitely an album that I enjoy.

      Released in 1993, it was probably a little bit ahead of its time as it blends doom metal, jazz and Persian music with an NWOBHM sound, to create a heavy yet tuneful and varied sound that most avant-garde metal bands are incapable of creating even today.

      The awesome bass line of "Black Rose" is unforgettable and generally the album has a pretty catchy, quick sound to it that makes you want to head bang until it comes to an end. Something I really enjoy about this song is that it sounds like a pretty standard metal track but if you listen carefully there's a Persian tune and some spacey sounds layered beneath it.

      There are several tracks that make use of a sort of trashy sounding keyboard and it's best heard on "Symphoni Draconi Infernis" I've never heard a simple noise sound so spooky, it's as if the band members stole a young child's Casio and then play it in a graveyard whilst taking part in a sordid cult ritual!

      The best guitar solo is present on "Dawn of Perishness" but the first couple of tracks both have a few humdingers as well.

      The vocals tend to be growled, boomed or distorted, so it's not really an album to sing a long too but the lyrics are pretty good anyway. This really is a good album that encompasses so many different styles that it assures the listener will not get bored even after years of listening to it (unless they don't like metal at all.)


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Baal Reginon
      2 Dark Princess Naamah
      3 A Black Rose
      4 Symphoni Draconis Inferni
      5 Dawn Of Perishness
      6 The Eye Of Eclipse
      7 The Ritualdance Of The Yezidis
      8 Powerdance
      9 Procreation Of Eternity
      10 Ho Drakon Ho Megas

    Products you might be interested in