Welcome! Log in or Register

Tallahassee - Mountain Goats

  • image
£8.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Lo-Fi / Artist: Mountain Goats / Audio CD released 2002-01-20 at 4ad

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.01.2012 20:51
      Very helpful



      A good album with one exceptional song

      Have any of you ever heard of Moral Orel? It's an Adult Swim stop-motion clay animation comedy set in the fictional town of Moralton in the United States. The first two series consist of very silly episodes based on the über-religious boy Orel causing trouble based on his desire to do good and follow Christian teachings. It made fun of Christian hypocrisy in a very tongue-in-cheek way and as such was very well received by a cult following. The third series, however, was done in a completely different style. Instead of a silly show it was transformed into a very dark and sad programme, as it went back to show the other side of events and characters that we had seen over the past two series. I was mesmerised and really moved by this final series and was blown away by how beautifully melancholy it was. One of the aspects that made this series so sad yet beautiful was its soundtrack, with the song playing on the first episode instantly becoming one of the best songs I'd ever heard in my life.

      That song was 'No Children' by the Mountain Goats, as such was my love for it following watching that episode, that I bought the entire album that it appeared on. My reasoning was that if this band was capable of making one such fantastic song, then surely the rest of the album must be at least decent if not better. Over six months later I still listen to this album on a regular basis and in no way regret making such a spontaneous purchase.

      == Mountain Goats ==

      Mountain Goats is an American band, whose main members have been John Darnielle and Peter Hughes since 1995, but Jon Wurster has also been a band member since 2007. Since 1994 they have had a total of thirteen full-length recordings, but as I only own Tallahassee, I will not be able to comment on how this album compares to the band's other releases.

      == Tallahassee ==

      Tallahassee was the Mountain Goats album release in 2003, which consisted of fourteen tracks. As I've already said, I bought the album mainly for its seventh track, 'No Children', but have to say that I am now impressed with the rest of the album as well. There are some beautifully written tracks here and a pleasant mix of rockier, faster songs and slower acoustic tracks.

      'No Children' is my favourite track due to its beautiful backing music as well as its clever contrast of cheery vocals and sad lyrics. This song's lyrics involve a man singing to his (ex?) wife about how much he hates her and his life now. There are some wonderful lines to be found here, such as 'I am drowning / there is no sign of land / you are coming down with me / hand in unlovable hand and I hope you die / I hope we both die', all sang in a surprisingly upbeat manner. There is a lot of emotion in this song and I can't help but feel moved every time I listen to it.

      Some other great songs from this album include 'See America Right', which is a lot rockier than 'No Children', and the slow and thoughtful 'Peacocks' is also one of my favourite tracks. 'Idylls of the King' and 'First Few Desperate Hours' are also songs that I keep going back to listen to and really enjoy. The other tracks on the album are all also decent, but unfortunately none reach the standard set by 'No Children', which I do consider to be a masterpiece.

      == Conclusion ==

      This is a good album and I do enjoy most of if not all of the songs on it, but I would not love it so much if it weren't for my favourite track. I bought the album based on one song and while I am glad that I did so as I do enjoy it, but none of the other tracks are as good as 'No Children'. I often listen to this song on its own without the rest of the album, but if I do listen to Tallahassee, I do enjoy it. At £5.99 for a physical copy from Amazon or £7.99 for a download from iTunes, it is a good value album and worth this price. I would, however, recommend listening to some of their songs on youtube (or by watching Moral Orel) first before purchasing in order to check that you like them. Based on this album I will look out for other releases by Mountain Goats, though I won't necessarily rush out and buy them immediately.

      === Track Listing ===

      1. "Tallahassee" -
      2. "First Few Desperate Hours"
      3. "Southwood Plantation Road"
      4. "Game Shows Touch Our Lives"
      5. "The House That Dripped Blood"
      6. "Idylls of the Kings"
      7. "No Children"
      8. "See America Right"
      9. "Peacocks"
      10. "International Small Arms Traffic Blues"
      11. "Have to Explode"
      12. "Old College Try"
      13. "Oceanographer's Choice"
      14. "Alpha Rats Nest"


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Tallahassee
    2 First Few Desperate Hours
    3 Southwood Plantation Road
    4 Game Shows Touch Our Lives
    5 House That Dripped Blood
    6 Idylls Of The King
    7 No Children
    8 See America Right
    9 Peacocks
    10 International Small Arms Traffic Blues
    11 Have To Explode
    12 Old College Try
    13 Oceanographer's Choice
    14 Alpha Rats Nest

Products you might be interested in