Welcome! Log in or Register

Tattoos - Jason Derulo

  • image
1 Review
  • Vertigo
  • Trumpets
  • Collaborations with 2Chainz and Chris Brown
  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      09.08.2014 21:53
      Very helpful


      • Vertigo
      • Trumpets
      • "The Other Side"


      • "Collaborations with 2Chainz and Chris Brown"

      An album with a lot of fire and passion, and some awesome vocals.

      Jason Derulo is an American singer-songwriter who sings with a great vocal range, and lots of upbeat songs with plenty of charisma. He has sold over 30 million singles, and this is his third international album, Tattoos.

      The Other Side is a great pop track, with a lot of positivity. It is very upbeat, and this builds from the introduction to the great chorus. If you listen, I'm sure you will be singing it as well. This song specifically shows of Jason's great vocal range, as the chorus involves a much different pitch to the verse, and he hits every single note.

      Talk Dirty, done in collaboration with 2 Chainz is more of an R n' B track than a pop hit. The vocals take a different tone in this song, which is great to see the versatility of Jason Derulo's voice. The chorus is highly catchy again, and the instrumental background beat in the chorus is fantastic, and really nice to listen to.

      Marry Me is a much better sound, as his vocals return to a pop song. I really like the meaning to this song, and it makes me feel very happy and like everything will be fine. The control when he sings the line "will you marry me" is exceptional, as he hits all of the delicate notes to perfection. This song is also very memorable, and is a lovely way of singing a love song.

      Tattoo has unnecessary explicit language, but other than that, this song is really easy listening, and it is relaxing listening to the sublime vocals. The chorus is distinctive and punchy, and you can easily recognise it is Jason Derulo's unique vocal tones. The instrumentals add drive to the song, and it builds and builds up towards the ending and the choruses.

      Trumpets is the catchiest track of the album, and arguably even of the year. I couldn't believe how much this song got in my head, and I could not get it out. It is absolutely fantastic, and really shows creativity to use the musical background that it uses. It is very distinctive and easily recognisable, and is my favourite Jason Derulo song.

      Vertigo involves a collaboration with Jordin Sparks who I think has a really smooth, passionate voice. The song starts with a lower tempo, but also a great piano solo in the background. This is a nice change from the constant upbeat songs, and it really shows off the flawless voice that Jason has. As the backing track is quiet, the vocals really stand out as being world class. I really like how Jordin sings the second verse, and it adds another dimension to the song when her part kicks in.

      Fire is a typical Pitbull track, with the beginning recognisable from all of his songs. His rap is very good in comparison to the rest of the music industry, but I am not a fan of rapping so for me this song is not the best. I prefer it when Jason's vocals kick in and take over, and his faultless voice can just be enjoyed. I like the beats that come into this song, however, even if the rap isn't my thing.

      Side FX is poor, along with Stupid Love, and are not really worth mentioning.

      The CD is available on Amazon for £4.75, which is a great price for this album, and I would certainly recommend buying this, as it will be a great addition to your collection.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 The Other Side
    2 Talk Dirty (Feat. 2 Chainz)
    3 Marry Me
    4 Tattoo
    5 Trumpets
    6 Vertigo (Feat. Jordin Sparks)
    7 Fire (Feat. Pitbull)
    8 Side Fx (Feat. The Game)
    9 Stupid Love
    10 With The Lights On
    11 Rest Of Our Life

Products you might be interested in