Welcome! Log in or Register

Ten - Brian McKnight

  • image
£7.29 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: R&B & Soul - Soul / Artist: Brian McKnight / Import / Audio CD released 2007-04-09 at Warner

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.12.2008 23:57
      Very helpful



      Read review.,


      It is my objective to write reviews on all or the majority of the albums released by some of my favourite artists and I have now decided to review the latest album from R&B star Brian McKnight, having seen him Live he is one of my favourite solo artists in the genre and There are so many songs of his that are classics to me. So how does Ten stack up against his previous albums. Here's my review.


      Ten is the Tenth studio album from Brian McKnight and is named to mark the fact. Ten features fifteen songs with production from Bryan Michael Cox and the lesser known Tim and Bob. Ten was released on 5th December 2006. (I didnt review it today to mark the 2 year anniversary of the albums release). I did not know that was the case.

      1.) Used to be My Girl

      This track is a great opening to the album, it opens like a ballad then the thump of the hip hop style beat comes in. Then the smooth backing vocals add a different touch around the hip hop beat, A very decent track to start off the album with.

      2.) Comfortable

      This track opens with a stop start sample and then the thump of the beat comes in, This has a nice feel without McKnight quite in full flow. There is much more to come on this album as this track kind of hints at in a subtle way.

      3.) Find Myself in You

      As the catchy hip hop beat opens the track you start to feel like tapping your toes to the beat. Brian McKnight's vocals then come in and sound remarkably similar to Marvin Gaye's, This is a very good track indeed which has a ballad like style with a hip hop beat.

      4.) What's My Name

      This track opens with a gentle keyboard intro and then develops thanks to a catchy beat and McKnight's distinctive vocals. This is about telling someone you are there for them all they need to do is call your name and you'll be there. One of the best tracks on the album.

      5.) Unhappy Without You

      This is a catchy hip hop style track which probably would be a better track if it was more of a ballad as the subject of the song is about regretting the end of a relationship and being unhappy without them. Could be a great ballad.

      6.) A Little Too Late

      This gentle piano led ballad is a fantastic track, the gentle tone of the piano and the punch of the gentle beat works so well yet again and this is a superbly tender track about trying too late to save a relationship and looking back with regret. A superb track.

      7.) Holdin' On (Missin' You)

      This opens with McKnight saying "I'd be missing you, missing you" Once the instruments open up this track flows very well andis one of the best slower tracks on the album. His vocal is tender and has a superb tone.

      8.) Shoulda Been Lovin' You

      This is one of the catchiest tracks he has done in recent years. The keyboard hooks sound As the drums crash in the background, This is a very catchy hip hop track which works well around mostly ballads, showing the variety of his music.

      9.) Again

      This is a very decent ballad which although it has a nice feel and Brian McKnight's trademark vocals it doesnt come anywhere near his best ballads which are regarded as all time classics like Anytime, One and many others.

      10.) More and More

      This is a fantastic piano led ballad which showcases the smoothness of his vocal tone and the emotion in his voice. This is without doubt one of the best ballads on the album. These kind of Brian McKnight songs are so soulful and seductive.

      11.) Can't Leave You Alone

      This is another hip hop led catchy track but it sounds a little too much like the rest of the hip hop tinged tracks on Ten and therefore is a little lost. A decent enough track though just not such a great track as some others.

      12.) I Do

      This is a slow ballad which features a more mellow vocal performance from Brian McKnight, There are better ballads he has done in his career but the chorus makes this track one to listen to over and over again. One of the best on the album.

      13.) The Rest of My Life

      This is the most beautiful track on the album, It opens with a gorgeous gentle piano and then his vocals come in. When he sings like this he is at his most appealing. There have been so many songs like this over the years from Brian McKnight. It's amazing how he keeps churning them out.

      14.) Red, White and Blue

      This is a fantastic track that works suprisingly well. It is a duet with Country band Rascal Flatts, Having heard some of their stuff I am pleasantly suprised as I am not really a fan of country but this works really well and is well worth it.

      15.) Don't Take Your Love Away

      Now we're onto the final track of the album and this is a smooth R&B Ballad which ends the album really well. His vocals are superb and very emotive and the whole song works really well. A very nice end to the album.


      There are one or two dissapointments on the album but the quality of the rest of the album means that the lesser tracks don't overshadow what is really a very good album indeed. Whilst it doesnt rival his best it is a very solid album which will keep most fans happy and will hopefully introduce a few new Brian McKnight fans from Country music.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Used to be My Girl
      2 Comfortable
      3 Find Myself in You
      4 What's My Name
      5 Unhappy Without You
      6 A Little Too Late
      7 Holdin' On (Missin' You)
      8 Shoulda Been Lovin' You
      9 Again
      10 More and More
      11 Can't Leave You Alone
      12 I Do
      13 The Rest of My Life
      14 Red, White and Blue
      15 Don't Take Your Love Away

    Products you might be interested in