Welcome! Log in or Register

Ten - Gabriella Cilmi

  • image
£8.44 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Pop / Artist: Gabriella Cilmi / Enhanced / Audio CD released 2010-03-22 at Island

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      02.06.2010 20:30
      Very helpful



      A change for the better? No. But regardless of that, Ten is still a good collection of uptempo tunes

      The relaxed jazz style of Climi's first album 'Lessons to be Learned' has been ditched in favour of a more commercial electropop beat in 'Ten'. When I say commercial, don't immediately expect my review to be bad. Alot of artists have gone commercial and it works for them. Unfortunately Climi's voice is lost and hardly identifiable under the heavy use of voice changer.

      What If You Know is a prime example on the album of a song which shows a complete change from 'Lessons', as the beat goes more uptempo and Climi opts for a more polished feel. This leaves me with mixed opinions. While the album would fit in with the current trend in the music industry (La Roux, Little Boots, Pixie Lott) I don't think that's what people want from her. Not another artist who does the same thing, but someone who tries to change the trend and bring songwriting and composing back to the forefront of the industry.

      In the end it depends on your musical taste. Do you prefer someone who gives Amy Winehouse a run for her money, or someone whose songs could just as easily of been recorded by the Sugababes?

      7 / 10 (just verging on getting three stars)


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 On A Mission
    2 Hearts Don't Lie
    3 What If You Knew
    4 Love Me Cos You Want To
    5 Defender
    6 Robots
    7 Super Hot
    8 Boys
    9 Invisible Girl
    10 Glue
    11 Let Me Know
    12 Superman
    13 Sweet About Me (Twenty Ten Version)

Products you might be interested in