Welcome! Log in or Register

Th1rt3en - Megadeth

  • image
£3.99 Best Offer by: http://www.oxfam.org.uk/shop/oxfam-unwrapped See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: Megadeth / Audio CD released 2011-10-31 at Roadrunner

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      01.11.2011 00:54
      Very helpful



      Megadave strikes again

      "Th1rt3en" is American thrash metal band Megadeth's 13th studio album produced by Johnny K and released in 2011 on Roadrunner Records. The foursome of Dave Mustaine (vocals/guitar), Chris Broderick (guitar), David Ellefson (bass) and Shawn Drover (drums) are back with the follow-up to 2009's "Endgame", and they are back with a vengeance.

      Megadeth's line-up hasn't been consistent since their formation in 1983 and the band undergo another change from the last album to this, with Dave Ellefson returning to the fold after an 8-year absence, and no disrespect to the guys who filled his shoes during that time, but it is good to have 'Junior' back.

      The album begins with "Sudden Death", first heard on Neversoft's 2010 video game, "Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock", although the album version differs slightly with more rhythm guitar and slightly altered vocals. I'm of the opinion that "Sudden Death" is the best Megadeth album opening track since 1999's "Trust" off of "Risk".

      Moving on to the second song off the album "Public Enemy No. 1", it's clear to note that Megadeth have created something very special with this album, and the listener will enjoy each and every track. The songwriting is strong on this album with two songs, "Millennium For the Blind" and "New World Order" having being written in 1991 while Marty Friedman and Nick Menza were both in the band.

      What can you expect on "Th1rt3en"? Well, it seems all Mustaine has to do is look at a guitar and a solo is born. "Sudden Death" is crammed full of them and you'll find some intricate soloing from both Dave and Chris Broderick on the whole album. Shawn Drover's drumming style has been moulding into the Megadeth shape and while this is his 3rd studio album with the band, it sounds like he's been there since the beginning.

      The final word must go to the last song on the album, "13". Megadeth fans will notice a slick reworking of a riff in "In My Darkest Hour" and, according to Dave Mustaine, this is intentional. "Th1rt3en" as an album is as good as any Megadeth album prior to its release. The classic line-up of Mustaine/Friedman/Ellefson/Menza has been replaced and knocked off their perch as the best Megadeth line-up with Mustaine/Broderick/Ellefson/Drover.

      1. Sudden Death
      2. Public Enemy No. 1
      3. Whose Life (is it Anyways?)
      4. We the People
      5. Guns, Drugs & Money
      6. Never Dead
      7. New World Order
      8. Fast Lane
      9. Black Swan
      10. Wrecker
      11. Millennium of the Blind
      12. Deadly Nightshade
      13. 13

      My rating: 9/10


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Sudden Death
    2 Public Enemy No. 1
    3 Whose Life (Is It Anyways?)
    4 We the People
    5 Guns, Drugs and Money
    6 Never Dead
    7 New World Order
    8 Fast Lane
    9 Black Swan
    10 Wrecker
    11 Millenium of the Blind
    12 Deadly Nightshade
    13 13

Products you might be interested in