Welcome! Log in or Register

The Art of Bix Beiderbecke - Bix Beiderbecke

  • image
£6.99 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Jazz - Swing / Artist: Bix Beiderbecke / Audio CD released 2006-10-16 at Primo

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      05.04.2010 19:49
      Very helpful



      Another top old school compilation!

      When it comes to Jazz, I'm not as knowledgeable on it as I am some other types of music, I'm not particularly educated about the range of brass instruments used in it and therefore can't comment in depth on the technical aspects of it.

      I'll be honest, I was first attracted to this album on a bit of a whim - thinking the name Bix Beiderbecke was rather odd, the son of a German immigrant Beiderbecke was an impressive jazz artist of the 20s, a lot of the jazz I like tends to be from this period and the 30s but Beiderbecke was actually quite ahead of his time, attempting more complicated and advanced styles than were common for the time.

      This album is a double disc compilation with a lot of his best work on it, I've grown to become rather fond of it and whilst not as catchy as my Reefer Man album, I do feel that the jazz is of top quality and the recordings are also rather good for the era, the music comes across as rather clean in sound and there are some intriguing tracks that feature a very young Bing Crosby being backed by Bix.

      Beiderbecke lived a short and alcohol riddened life but clearly was a bit of a genius and with this album the legend can live on!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Singin' The Blues
    2 Trumbology
    3 Clarinet Marmalade
    4 Riverboat Shuffle
    5 I'm Coming Virginia
    6 Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
    7 Fidgety Feet
    8 Jazz Me Blues
    9 Copenhagen
    10 Sensation
    11 I'm Glad
    12 Toddlin' Blues
    13 Davenport Blues
    14 In A Mist
    15 For No Reason At All In C
    16 Wringin' And Twistin'
    17 Three Blind Mice
    18 Humpty Dumpty
    19 Krazy Kat
    20 Baltimore

    Disc #2 Tracklisting
    1 At The Jazz Band Ball
    2 Royal Garden Blues
    3 Goose Pimples
    4 Sorry
    5 Clementine (From New Orleans)
    6 Changes
    7 There Ain't No Sweet Man That's Worth The Salt Of My Tears
    8 Lonely Melody
    9 You Took Advantage Of Me
    10 Rockin' Chair
    11 Barnacle Bill The Sailor
    12 Mississippi Mud
    13 Japanese Sandman
    14 Cryin' All Day
    15 Good Man Is Hard To Find
    16 Since My Best Gal Turned Me Down
    17 Somebody Stole My Gal
    18 Rhythm King
    19 Ol' Man Rive