Welcome! Log in or Register

The Best Of Wilko Johnson Volume 1 - Wilko Johnson

  • image
£7.81 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Rock / Artist: Wilko Johnson / Audio CD released 2010-02-15 at The Cadiz Recording Co.

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      14.01.2012 20:30
      Very helpful



      Not as much in the way of songs as a solo artist as you may hope for

      The Best of Wilko Johnson Vol. 1 is the first volume of 2 seperate CDs consisting of the best work of former Dr. Feelgood lead guitarist Wilko Johnson. Musically it's very similar to Dr. Feelgood, pub rock from Canvey Island heavily influenced by the blues. Wilko Johnson's guitar playing is still up to scratch and it's that fun choppy style that is his signature sound.

      As he wrote the majority of Dr. Feelgood's early work, quite a lot of it is put across these two albums with him singing rather than the now dead Lee Brilleaux, obviously their styles of vocals are quite different. Wilko is not one for holding notes and whether he's just not a natural singer or the drugs have taken their toll, it could be argued that he's not really singing at all. He makes a noise resembling a sheep trying to talk with an Essex accent, it's so raw that it actually sounds convincingly like an Appalachian holler.

      What basically happened when the band split up is that Wilko Johnson started writing songs that were more about his life and relationships, unsuitable for a band as ballsy as Dr. Feelgood but suited to a solo artist. "She's Good Like That" has some neat piano playing and has a distinctly Doors feel to it. Cairo Blues is another top track on the album not to be confused with the Henry Spaulding song of the same name.

      The Beautiful Madrilena is potentially good but just a bit lacklustre, luckily it's followed up by that Dr. Feelgood classic Sneakin' Suspicion before returning to an odd somewhat folky Underneath Orion. If you wanted to rate this album on lyric writing and guitar playing you'd give it a 5, for content it would get a 4 and for singing a 2. It's close between a 3/5 or 4/5. I'll air on the side of caution due to the amount of tracks that were available on Dr. Feelgood releases too.


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Some Kind Of Hero
    2 Back In The Night
    3 Cairo Blues
    4 Paradise
    5 Keep On Loving You
    6 Come Back And Love Me
    7 When I'm Gone
    8 Ice On The Motorway
    9 She's Good Like That
    10 The Beautiful Madrilena
    11 Sneaking Suspicion
    12 Underneath Orion

Products you might be interested in